Kat - Diaries of an Epicure
1 min readOct 15, 2023

--

I’m really shocked by the amount of people in the comments who think it’s ok to use this term. I don’t know if it could be considered racist but it most certainly is sexist. I have been called a Karen a lot for speaking out on issues, one time it was standing up to a landlord who wanted to charge only female tenants for the repair of a washing machine as a hair bobble was in the drain. There where also tile spacers and there was a male tenant who fitted bathrooms and kitchens. I said I thought the payment should be split between all tenants but the landlord was aggressive, condescending and refused to back down. I ended up having to threaten legal action and the response I got from a lot of people when I told them about the issue was ‘calm down Karen!’ Apparently women are just supposed to accept unfair treatment and I never got the memo.

--

--

Kat - Diaries of an Epicure

A full time NHS worker with a passion for running and gastronomy, attempting to live life to the full by balancing good health and the thrill of indulgence.