Kena: Bridge of Spirits Review

Dragon Fang Gaming
3 min readOct 13, 2023

--

  • Platforms: Steam, PS
  • Price: $39.99
  • Players: 1
  • Release Date: September 21, 2021 (PS4/PS5) September 26, 2022 (PC)
  • Genre: Action Adventure, Third Person, Open World
  • Developer: Ember Lab
  • Publisher: Ember Lab

Heya folks, Shaun here, and I’m back with my latest review! In this one, I’m covering the Steam release of Kena: Bridge of Spirits by Ember Lab. A big thank you goes out to the developer for the chance to cover the game, it’s much appreciated, thank you!

Kena: Bridge of Spirits is an action-adventure game that follows a spirit guide named Kena who has travelled to the land of spirits in order to guide 4 fallen spirits on to the next world. Her job isn’t an easy one, however, because the land of spirits has become corrupted and it’s up to her to cleanse the realm.

I’ll say this right away, this game is easily the most beautiful game I’ve ever had the pleasure of experiencing, and I’ve played a lot of games over the years. Its graphics are seriously impressive and its cutscenes are like watching a Disney Pixar movie, which is equally impressive.

The game’s combat system is really fun as well. It feels really fluid and chaining together melee, archery and bomb attacks is a blast. Some of the main bosses in the game can definitely tax your skills to the limit because they require quick evasive maneuvers as well as quick attacks on multiple enemies at once. You can heal yourself by using the rot on blue plants during a boss fight but you need to be wary of how much health you have. I was fighting Adira at one point and got her down to 1 hit remaining but I wasn’t paying attention to my own health and she killed me before I could land that one hit. So, definitely be mindful of your health.

Another area that I really like about this game is its great cast of characters. Every character in the game is unique, likeable and really well acted by their voice actors.

Honestly, there is a lot about this game that I could praise, but we’ll end this section here. Just know, that the game is absolutely amazing.

Overall, Kena: Bridge of Spirits is easily the most impressive first game by any development team that I’ve ever reviewed games for. It’s immensely polished, and it’s near perfect in every aspect. It’s an incredible game and I honestly can’t recommend the game enough. If you’ve yet to play it then I highly recommend giving it a shot, it’s incredible. I’ve decided to give the game a 10 out of 10, it’s fantastic all around.

Pros

  • Beautiful Graphics and Cutscenes
  • Excellent Orchestral Soundtrack
  • Very Good Voice Acting
  • Fluid Combat System
  • Feels Immensely Polished
  • Great Cast of Unique and Likeable Characters
  • The Rot Are Seriously Cute

Cons

  • Honestly, I have none. The game is as close to perfect as you can get and I have no negative things to say about it.

Thanks for reading folks, I’ll be back with my next review soon!

--

--

Dragon Fang Gaming

Heya folks, Dragon Fang Gaming is a solo game review blog/YouTube Channel with a weekend schedule.