Twin Mirror Review

Dragon Fang Gaming
3 min readNov 11, 2023

--

  • Platforms: Steam, Xbox, PS4
  • Price: $29.99
  • Release Date: December 1, 2021
  • Genre: Adventure, Sci-Fi, Third Person, Psychological, Choices Matter
  • Developer: DON’T NOD
  • Publisher: DON’T NOD

Heya folks, Shaun here, and I’m back with my latest review! In this one, I’m featuring the 2021 game Twin Mirror by DON’T NOD. This review is largely for fun because I picked up the game on Steam and Iwanted to do a review for it.

Twin Mirror is a psychological themed adventure game that follows a man named Sam Higgs who returns to his hometown of Basswood to attend the funeral of a close, but estranged, friend. Upon waking up from a night of heavy drinking, Sam finds that his shirt is covered in blood, which sends him reeling into his own mind space where he must decide what to do next.

Sam is a complicated man, but he is aided by his imaginary friend who acts as an alternate self to his normal personality. Your choices along the way impact not only the story, but also the way that Sam interacts with his imaginary friend, often confusing the people around him.

The story in this game is honestly quite entertaining, but it’s worth mentioning that it’s pretty easy to determine what each path will be compared to many of DON’T NOD’s other games, so it was easy to figure out what options would bring about a good ending. That said, I still enjoyed it nonetheless, since I liked all of the main characters.

Overall, I think the game was pretty entertaining, and I had a lot of fun with it. It was also pretty nice being able to get a good ending for a change. Normally when I play choice based games like these everybody winds up dead, I’m not great at life or death decision making it would seem, ha. In the end, I’ve decided to give the game an 8 out of 10.

Pros

  • Has An Enjoyable Story That Can Be Pretty Bleak At Times
  • Your Choices Have An Impact On Not Only The Story, But Sam’s Relationship With His Imaginary Friend
  • Has An Interesting, and Likable, Cast of Main Characters
  • I Managed To Get A Good Ending For A Change, Which Is Always Nice
  • Has Some Great Atmosphere
  • The Voice Acting Was Excellent Throughout (As Expected From A DON’T NOD Game)

Cons

  • The Different Pathways Were Pretty Simple To Figure Out In This One Compared To DON’T NOD’s Other Games (I Personally Don’t Mind This Fact, But It’s Worth Mentioning Nonetheless)

Thanks for reading folks, I’ll be back with my next review soon!

--

--

Dragon Fang Gaming

Heya folks, Dragon Fang Gaming is a solo game review blog/YouTube Channel with a weekend schedule.