Whispering Willows Review

Dragon Fang Gaming
2 min readAug 21, 2023

--

  • Platforms: Steam, Xbox, Switch
  • Price: $9.99
  • Release Date: July 9, 2014
  • Genre: Adventure, Horror, Sidescroller, 2D
  • Developer: Night Light Interactive
  • Publisher: Akupara Games

Heya folks, Shaun here, and I’m back with my latest review! In this one, I’m covering an indie game from 2014 called Whispering Wilows by Night Light Interactive and Akupara Games. I originally reviewed this game back in 2014 but I replayed it recently and wanted to write up a brand new review for it.

Whispering Willows is a horror adventure game that follows a young woman named Elena as she searches for her missing father throughout a haunted mansion and the surrounding area.

Gameplay wise, the game is a sidescroller and you travel between the various sections of the game by using doors. There are also various puzzles that you’ll need to solve along the way but the vast majority of them are quite simple to figure out.

Elena also has the ability to have an out of body experience with her spirit. This allows her to see things that are hidden, like ghosts, or writing on walls. She can also use this ability to get to out of reach areas, and she can possess certain objects to open doors or to obtain objects.

Overall, Whispering Willows doesn’t really hold up as well as I remember it, but it’s still a pretty enjoyable ghost themed game. It’s also a pretty short game that I wound up breezing through in an hour and a half or so, but I don’t count that as a negative as I don’t mind short games. In the end, I’ve decided to give the game a 7 out of 10. I don’t remember what my original score for the game was, but I think a 7 is fair.

Thanks for reading folks!

--

--

Dragon Fang Gaming

Heya folks, Dragon Fang Gaming is a solo game review blog/YouTube Channel with a weekend schedule.