“Hanging With Snorlax” — 365 Days of Growth 2/365

Dallin Candland
3 min readApr 24, 2023

--

Visited a friend’s house today, and they had this GIANT Snorlax plush.

It made me very happy 😄

Reminded me of times when chilling was more of a switch I could pull — rather than a prize to be earned.

Nevertheless today I was able to pull it off. Snorlax’s persona probably had the greatest influence on me

In the Pokemon games Snorlax literally doesn’t care.

He’s found a wonderful place to sleep and he owns it! 😴

The player playing the game finds that Snorlax is blocking the way to help them progress and move forward.

Again, Snorlax doesn’t care.

If the trainer finds a Poke Flute then Snorlax will wake up and battle the trainer.

Until then… nope. Not budging.

I realize now that for a great portion of my life I have been like the Snorlax-

Not caring or budging, unless I heard the right sound to perk me up.

Lately though I’ve let other noises “wake me up” from my chillness.

It may be negative thoughts, frustrating news, etc.

I let these things take me from my happy place, and wake me back up.

It’s not easy to go back to sleep once you’ve been woken up.

The same thing is true, I believe with chilling.

When you have that spot and vibe figured out, stay there as long as you need.

Leaving “early” can lead to irritation, pain, and lack of enthusiasm.

Today I hung out with Snorlax as long as I needed.

Then I went and got dinner.

In a world where so many loud voices try to get us to always be hustling, grinding, and flying all around…

I’m thankful for Snorlax’s example.

Nothing like chilling for a bit. 😎

Today made me really want to buy a similar Snorlax plush for when I have my own place haha.

At the very least I’m going to be more intentional with finding this “chill time”.

What helps you chill?

Fun Fact: My first Pokemon game was Pokemon Crystal and I got it for Christmas with a Lime Gameboy Color when I was around six years old. I grew up having cousins that were into Pokemon too which helped me get lost in the whole mania of it. Lots of good memories had in that time.

These days I don’t play Pokemon much. I will to vibe when listening to a podcast but that’s about it. I am at the Elite Four in Pokemon Diamond right now, just need to finish strong. I didn’t grow up with Pokemon Diamond, and once I beat the Elite Four I’m saying I’m “done” with it.

It’s fun to revisit the classics, but the way I look at it now I am “writing the classics” for my life. It’s more important for me to be writing than visiting a destination, idea, or experience.

With that said, I do know that Pokemon is there if I want to play it for a bit. If I want to say “hi” to Snorlax and chill with the king of chill that’s there too. That’s a nice comfort. I still need to get that Snorlax plush though. :)

Thank you for reading. This post is Day 2/365 from my 365 Days of Growth Challenge that I started on July 22, 2022.

This challenge started on my Instagram and I decided to share some of the highlights on Medium. Follow my Instagram for more shenanigans. :)

--

--

Dallin Candland

I believe in Christ. ADHD podcaster, writer, poet. Author of "God is Trying to Talk to Me"🎤🏃✏️ linktr.ee/dallincandland