“No Sound Available” (A Poem)- 4/30 April Poetry Challenge

Dallin Candland
2 min readApr 14, 2023

--

I cry, but no sound comes out.

I sing my heart out, but the crowd has already moved on.

I step up to the plate, but the game has already ended. I am at the flagpole, but then time expires.

I am here, but they are there.

My heart is warm, but the opportunity is cold. I lay down all my cards, and then I decide to fold…

Did I begin with the end in mind, or did I succumb to something blind?

My soul hungers for more, but the food is behind the locked kitchen door.

I needed more time, but I gave myself another mountain to climb. I yearned for hope, but in my cave of cares I forgot a rope.

The last joke has been sayed. The final note has been played. My chances for a refund I have let fade.

The once bright scoreboard has dimmed…

Fun Fact: I wrote this in late October 2021. At the time I was feeling that I had missed out on plenty of opportunities, and I was beating myself up a lot about it.

It came down to not knowing better what I really wanted. I realize that now. Although somber in tone, this poem has given me plenty of perspective with considering the lifetime of an opportunity.

Kind of wild, but a year or so down the road and I can put these words to fit into things and moments that I couldn’t have imagined happening when I wrote this. That’s WILD. That’s the power of poetry. I hope that this gave you some perspective. Look forward to tomorrow’s poem. It’s another great one!

Thank you for reading. Throughout April 2023 I will be uploading an average of one poem a day. This is Day 4/30. Here’s the rest of the poems I’ve shared on Medium

--

--

Dallin Candland

I believe in Christ. ADHD podcaster, writer, poet. Author of "God is Trying to Talk to Me"🎤🏃✏️ linktr.ee/dallincandland