“When Inspiration Strikes” (A Poem) — 16/30 April Poetry Challenge

Dallin Candland
2 min readApr 21, 2023

--

When inspiration strikes

You can let it cause a storm

or you can ignore it and say something silly like-

“That’s the norm”.

When inspiration strikes, you can let it start a fire…

Or you can snuff it out-

with a base, worldly desire.

The next time inspiration strikes, I’ll let it warm my heart,

And trust that God is seeking to give me a brand new start.

Fun Fact: I wrote this in my journal on 10/12/21. At the time I was doing an internship, taking a class I had failed previously (accounting), and overall was feeling a bit wiped out.

I have learned though that when I lean on the inspiration that I feel is coming from God though I am always able to stand up again.

This poem was written as a way to remind myself that it is my choice. I can choose to let God set my soul on fire and use me and do a lot of cool things, or I can pretend that I am meant to just be a puppet… a puppet that sits in a refrigerator!

No, no. I don’t think I’ll do that. I’d rather be a soul on fire. :)

Thank you for reading. Throughout April 2023 I will be uploading an average of one poem a day. This is Day 16/30. Here’s the rest of the poems I’ve shared on Medium

--

--

Dallin Candland

I believe in Christ. ADHD podcaster, writer, poet. Author of "God is Trying to Talk to Me"🎤🏃✏️ linktr.ee/dallincandland