The Disappearance of Beau Mann

Grace Gomez
4 min readMay 2, 2023

--

Hello everyone, and welcome back to my blog. My name is Grace. If you want to submit a case for me, please go to avoiceforthemissing.net and click the Case Submissions link. This week’s episode is on the disappearance of Beau Mann. Beau Mann texted 911 for help; he’s been missing for over 28 months. Then 39-year-old Beau Mann was last seen on November 30, 2021, leaving a 7-Eleven in Los Angeles, California. He texted 911 for help but has yet to be heard from since. “I just want to know where he is,” Jason Abate pleaded. “Please, somebody, have a heart.”

On November 30, 2021, Jason’s fiancé, 39-year-old Beau Mann, vanished in Los Angeles, California. Jason told Dateline he last spoke to Beau on November 29, the day before his disappearance. “He told me he was going to bed,” Jason said. But he hasn’t heard from Beau since that night. Beau and Jason met five years ago. Jason noted that the pair matched on a dating site while he was visiting Texas for a wedding. “I had lived there for about a year, taking over a bank. Then I got relocated back home to Michigan,” Jason told Dateline. “I had made some friends in Texas; they had invited me back,” Jason said he and Beau were supposed to meet up for coffee during his short trip, but Jason was in San Antonio, and Beau was in Austin at the time, over an hour away from each other.

“We never got a chance to actually meet, but we continued to talk for several weeks,” Jason said. “Eventually, he said, ‘I’m going to East Hampton. Would you like to meet me in the city?” Jason told Dateline that he jumped at the opportunity to meet the man that had already captured his heart. They finally met weeks later in New York City, where Jason says he also met another special person in Beau’s life, Sandy Eggers. Sandy told Dateline she met Beau over 20 years ago and soon became a godmother-like figure to him. “He was friends with my son,” Sandy said. “I was just very impressed with him.” Sandy recalled quickly noticing Beau was “ambitious and very smart.” “I guided him on his business ventures, and eventually, he started his own business,” Sandy told Dateline. The business was an app Beau created called Sober Grid.

According to their website, Sober Grid is an app designed to provide people with “easy access to private support at any time and at any stage of the recovery journey.” The app aims to help users “maintain their path to sobriety.” Jason told Dateline that when he was younger, Beau suffered from substance abuse issues and wanted to create a support system for people to stay clean and sober. “I don’t want to sound overly dramatic, but he’s changed the world,” Jason said. While changing the world, Beau also traveled it. Jason said Beau’s work took him around the country, and he would often take Jason along with him. “I think there were 27 different places that he and I had traveled to,” Jason remembered.

“We were always on an airplane meeting each other somewhere.” It’s been a long-distance relationship for the two: Jason still lives in Michigan, while Beau lives in California. According to Jason, Beau moved to Los Angeles three years ago for work. But he was born in Post, Texas. Jason said Beau’s parents split up when he was young, so he grew up traveling between his father’s house in Texas and his mother’s in Massachusetts. In 2021, Beau returned to Texas to visit his family for Thanksgiving. “He had a great time, and from there, he flew back to Los Angeles,” Jason said, adding that he spoke with Beau on the phone when he got home on November 29, and everything seemed normal.

I don’t know what happened to Mr. Mann, but judging by my research, I’m starting to believe that the Uber driver, unfortunately, murdered him. I concluded because I read that the driver kept changing his story when talking to the police during questioning. This family and his fiancée deserve closure, so if someone is responsible for Beau’s disappearance, please do the right thing and come forward. If the Mann family watches or listens to this episode, please know that all of you will be in my thoughts and prayers. If you have seen or have any information regarding Beau Mann’s whereabouts, please contact the Los Angeles Police Department’s Missing Persons Unit at 213–996–1800. During non-business hours or on weekends, calls should be directed to 1–877-LAPD-24.7 (877. 527–3247). Anyone wishing to remain anonymous should call the Los Angeles Regional Crime Stoppers at 1–800–222-TIPS (800–222–8477) or go directly to www.lacrimestoppers.org.

--

--

Grace Gomez
0 Followers

Hello everyone, you can call me Grace. I’m going to be making videos highlighting people who either disappeared or tragically passed away.