The Girl That Was Me

Damisi
3 min readJun 13, 2024

--

A neon sign above a wine bar with the words, “You’re in the right place”, written in black.

I met a girl yesterday.

We could not have been anymore different, from completely different worlds, but she was me, deep inside.

I looked into her eyes as she spoke, her words sad, yet hateful as she talked about herself. Trancelike, I fell, not seeing her anymore, but myself, as she used those harsh painful words to describe her beautiful features.

She was spending too much time scrolling through social media and constantly feeling bad about herself as she compared her body and life with the ‘seemingly’ perfect people online.

I wanted to tell her to calm down, that she’s not less, and she’s not behind. She’s exacly where she needs to be, so there’s no rush. But I couldn’t speak, as I fell down the familiar rabbit hole of misery.

Now, as I think back, I realise that she does not hate herself, she just feels pressured. I saw that she felt like everyone was moving on and doing their own things, while she was stuck in the shadows.

I know she thinks that everyone else is doing something worthwhile and making a name for themselves in the world. That everyone else loves thier body, flaws and all. That everyone else is perfectly happy.

Everyone but her.

It may be too late now because I may never meet her again, but I want her to know that even though that her life may not be perfect, that’s okay because nobody’s life is perfect. These people she admires also have their battles and insecurities too.

What she sees is not the whole picture.

I want her to know that it’s easy to take a perfect picture or edit a video and make it ‘aesthetic’ but nobody’s life is without problems, nobody’s body is without flaws, and not everyone is as confident or happy as they seem.

I want to tell her that her friends may be getting married, buying cars, buying houses and travelling to all the places on her bucketlist, but that doesn’t mean they’re ahead of her, it’s merely their time to do those things.

I want her to trust that her time will come soon, that she‘ll also do cool things, and see cool places, and how she feels now will be a forgotten past.

All these and more I want to say but I don’t know if she’ll believe me, because I can hear her thoughts, her fears, her prayers. I used to see her in the mirror so I want to tell her that I understand, and that she’s enough!

I wish I had been more vocal yesterday, but I know she’ll be fine, because afterall, she was me.

Your journey is yours, and it’s beautiful, so embrace it and love yourself.
You are in the right place

Since you enjoyed this post, then clap as much as you can (50x) to boost my visibility globally, and let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Subscribe to be notified first every time I post ;)

--

--

Damisi

Writing about Web3, Learning Mandarin and Self-Improvement