How to Smuggle Insulin

Dan Behrman
6 min readJan 9, 2022

Anyone who follows Bernie Sanders on Twitter knows that he’s always ranting and raving about how expensive insulin is in the US. But while he’s pushing a government takeover of all private businesses, ‘Medicare for all’, or some sort of price-capping regulation, I have a better idea.

Until we abolish the laws that enable pharmaceutical companies to price gouge American citizens on life-saving medications, smuggling insulin from Mexico is a necessity.

  • So, how do you smuggle insulin from Mexico into the US?
  • Is it even legal, and what happens if you get caught?
  • Can anyone do it?

This article is going to answer those questions, and more.

A quick disclaimer. While this is written as a “HOW-TO” guide, these are really just the rules that I follow myself. I am not advocating for anyone to break the law. This article is only intended for informational purposes and to tell my story.

The First Time I Smuggled Insulin from Mexico

I moved to Mexico four years ago, and because I still have a residence in Texas, I’m technically on a really long vacation. But because I spend time in both countries, I couldn’t help but notice the price differences in just about everything, including insulin.

--

--

Dan Behrman

I came to cut tax and chew bubblegum. And I’m all out of bubble gum. Voluntaryist, tax evader, undocumented motorist, life-saving drug smuggler.