Examples of good and bad user offboarding

It’s 8:00 PM, it’s been a long day at work, your spouse has asked you (for the 2nd time) to cancel your subscription to a service you’ve paid for for months. You plop down on your favorite chair, whip out your phone or tablet, and navigate to the “cancel subscription” page of the service that you’re leaving… only it doesn’t exist. You can’t find the page. Annoyed, indignant, frustrated, and visibly irritable, you search for what feels like 30 minutes of the time you had planned to spend watching your favorite show or spending time with your kids. Finally, at the bottom of the account settings section in the form of a tiny, light grey, text link you find the “cancel subscription” button.

This is a terrible off-boarding experience. Here’s how some of the best in the business do it (with one exception, can you spot who it is?)

How others are doing it

You can view screenshots for these screens via this Dropbox folder.

Audible.com

  1. “Cancel Membership” is a small link displayed in a section along with a single other link “switch membership”
  2. They show an aspect of the service that they think you value and that you may have missed and offer you a button that reads “No thanks, continue cancelling“.
  3. They ask “Will you let us know why you’re canceling? It’ll just take a minute.”, but you must answer this before cancelling. They offer a list of 8 options, which shuffle order on refresh (probably to avoid any list order bias). They display a button below that that reads “Continue Cancelling”.
  4. Cancellation confirmation: You’re taken back to the account details page and a confirmation alert is displayed at the top of the page containing the text “Your membership has been cancelled and a confirmation email has been sent. But don’t worry, we’ll leave a light on — just in case you ever change your mind.”

InVision

  1. Small “Cancel Plan” link in the account details > billing page.
  2. Once the button is clicked, you’re presented with a modal that shows you how many projects you currently have in the app and gives you three options (Downgrade Plan, Pause Plan, Free Plan [A.K.A cancel])
  3. Once you choose “free plan“, and click the “downgrade plan”, the buttons are disabled and you’re presented with a small sentence that says “You must archive or delete 7 of your 8 projects to use this plan.”
  4. Once you’ve archived the necessary number of projects and choose the “downgrade plan“ button again, you’re presented with an interim “here’s what you’re about to do modal”
  5. You’re feedback is solicited.
  6. Cancellation confirmation

Dropbox

  1. “Cancel subscription” is a small link in the payment methods section of the account settings page.
  2. Once the link is clicked, you’re presented with a new page which highlights what you will lose if you choose to downgrade. You’re also presented with a few other options to contact support downgrade to a cheaper plan, or to continue to cancel.
  3. Once you click the “I still want to downgrade button”, you’re feedback is solicited. You’re given a list options for why you’re downgrading and these options shuffle order on refresh (except for “other” which is always last).
  4. Once you’ve chosen a feedback option and click “I still want to downgrade“ you’re taken back to your homepage and shown a confirmation alert that says “Account downgraded. Thanks for your feedback”. Though, nothing actually changes until your yearly subscription has run out (e.g. december)

Facebook

  1. Manage account is an option on the general account settings page.
  2. once you click the manage account link, you’re given a few options for leaving Facebook (request account deletion, and deactivate your account. It should be noted that request account deletion is a link int eh legacy contact section which means this is only the option for deleting your account after you die.)
  3. Once you choose “deactivate your account” your feedback is solicited. Your shown a list of 10 options which shuffle order upon refresh (except for the first last option. The first option being “This is temporary, I’ll be back”, in which case the recommend that you just log out, and the last being “Other, please explain further”)
  4. Once you click deactivate your shown a modal which explains the consequences of deactivating… what will and won’t happen.
  5. After clicking “deactivate now“ you’re logged out and shown a little notification of confirmation

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.