Peace Prayer for the Privileged

Daniel P. Horan
1 min readOct 9, 2020
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Lord, make me an instrument of your holy discomfort
Where there is privilege, let me sow equity,
Where there is violence, let me work for peace,
Where there is division, let me seek unity,
Where there is racism, let me pursue racial justice,
Where there is environmental degradation, let me care for creation,
Where there is political discord, let me seek the common good,
And where there is economic inequality, let me seek justice.

O God of Justice, grant that I may not so much seek comfort,
as to welcome hard truths,
To be heard, as to listen,
To hold power, as to empower,
To seek control, as to follow,
For it is in humility, that we learn,
It is in seeking forgiveness, that we are reconciled,
And it is in dying to self, that we are born to new life.
Amen.

Daniel P. Horan, OFM, PhD, is a Franciscan friar, the Duns Scotus Professor of Spirituality at Catholic Theological Union in Chicago, a columnist for National Catholic Reporter, and the author of many books, including Catholicity and Emerging Personhood: A Contemporary Theological Anthropology (2019). Follow him on Twitter and Facebook.

--

--

Daniel P. Horan

A professor of philosophy and theology in Indiana, author of more than a dozen books, and columnist for National Catholic Reporter. More: DanHoran.com