September in Maine

Daniel J. Kosco
2 min readSep 29, 2014

I

I laid, looking up at the sun through the apple tree. The light flickering in and out of view as the leafs danced lightly. Today was a day so perfect it could only be a September day in Maine. My back on the soft grass, I felt the warm touch of light, followed by the vaguely cool and vaguely salty breeze of the distant Atlantic— the perfect balance of nature.

It’s days like this which shaped my life. From jumping into leave piles with my parents as a kid, to warming up for the game every Friday night as the starting left tackle, to the day I married my beautiful wife.

I wish one of those red and green apples would fall into my hand from their perch. I would like to get this strange salty taste out of my mouth. But I can’t get up; to comfortable or something.

Today is my 10 year wedding anniversary. That’s a big one they say. I hope my small excursion on the roadside and tardiness won’t cause a frenzy. If it does, its not my fault. I hope this doesn't sound bad, but I like when my wife get a little mad at me. It shows me that she still cares about us and loves me. How quickly she forgives me when she sees me shows me how great of a person she is.

Damn, how did I get so lucky?

Too bad I can’t tell her.

II

How could he be late today? He is still that lovable giant I fell in love with in high school. But I wish he would grow up sometimes. Oh well, not to worry he’ll be home soon and we will still have time for dinner before the show.

I recently read that if you chew gum while cutting onions, you don’t cry. I decided to test this out making the kids dinner today: stirfry made with yesterday’s chicken from the party. Guess what—it worked! But there is no remedy for what was to come

The phone rang.

“Mrs. Jackson?” inquired a somber female officer

“Yes?” I replied nervously

“I’m afraid you husband was hit head on by a car crossing the center line. It stuck him and he flew through the windshield onto the side of the road. We did all we could.”

--

--

Daniel J. Kosco
0 Followers

I am an Akron based Writer, Actor, Musician and Comedian.