A Fireside Fantasy

If Only You Were Here…

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews
3 min readOct 7, 2023
Photo by Hans Isaacson on Unsplash

The moon is high over the trees,
This is probably the last warm night we’ll see.
There are leaves softly tumbling in the breeze.
It’s such a beautiful autumn night
Yet my heart feels a gentle squeeze.

Orange flames lick softly at the blue
As they crawl across the darkened wood
Each log is strategically stacked within the firepit.
The colors mesmerize.

My mind drifts
To the memory of you,
Back to our brief interlude.
To all the things I never got to say to you.
I wonder now if you were here
What would you want to say?
What would you do?

The memory of you enchants,
And I longingly wish that you were here.
I wish I could lean forward and pull you near.
That Fate would give us another chance.
That I could take you by the hand,
Confess to what’s in my heart.

--

--

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us)