Have We Come Full Circle?

I’m Still Wishing You’d Sweep Me Off My Feet.

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews
3 min readOct 27, 2023
Photo by Ryan Hutton on Unsplash

Ahh, I can’t sleep.
I’ve got you on my mind.
Wishing you were here,
Wishing you’d send me a sign.

Finally, make your feelings clear.
Why can’t I get you out of my system?
Why can’t you be here?
We’ve been caught up in this years-long rhythm.

A “will they or won’t they?”
“Are you ‘Just Friends,’
Romantic feelings now non-existent,
Or is there a couple’s commitment?”
How many times have I been asked this?

I smile, and I shrug.
‘We love each other, it’s true.
He’s one of my best friends,
And there’s nothing I wouldn’t do
If he asked me to.

He’s always had my back.
It’s mutual, in fact,
But the truth is that our status is currently… blurred.’
And I’m hoping that soon the answer will no longer be so obscured.

--

--

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us)