How Could You?

Song Lyrics

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews
3 min readNov 11, 2023
Photo by Julia Caesar on Unsplash

Everything felt different when I walked in this mornin’.
I knew something was wrong
Then I spotted an earring that I knew didn’t belong.
Took a deep breath, knew I had to be strong.

Did you forget about the Ring cams that you put in last fall?
I never thought I’d find a video of you and her kissin’.
Bet ya never thought it’d capture you and your downfall.
You were so worried about those packages that went missin’.
Now you’ll be lucky if yours isn’t the next to next to go.
I may toss it in the river, use it to go fishin’.

I asked you about the earring,
My eyes and heart were already tearing.
You took me by the hand,
Looked deep into my eyes
And said, “I hope you’ll understand…”

Baby, how could I?
When you said, “All I’ve ever really wanted is to be your man.”
So, no.
No, no, no.
No, I don’t understand.
You can take these rings,
Go pack up all your things.
How could you?

--

--

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us)