She’s Gone …

Five Years Have Passed Since I’ve Heard Your Laugh

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews
5 min readSep 20, 2023
Photo Is Property Of The Author

Today marks five years since that awful day.
The day they called and told me, “She’s gone…away.”
Confusion rocked us all.
Shock reigned in the wake of that call.
Why hadn’t you reached for any of us
When you’d felt ready to give up on it all?

When the call came, it didn’t seem possible.
It didn’t feel real.
I can’t begin to express all the emotions that I still feel.
You were the sister I’d never known I’d needed.
The girl that can never be superseded.

You know I would’ve lent a shoulder as I had so many times before.
Just because we’d argued,
And I was still pretty sore,
That doesn’t undo the years of friendship
Or sisterhood that we’d built.

We were supposed to be sisters forever, remember?
A couple of rebellious old ladies, refusing to wilt.
We’d continue to spread free knowledge,
Go on our urban hikes past Boston College.

--

--

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us)