Tormented

When I Walked Away It Was Already Far Too Late

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews
3 min readOct 12, 2023
Photo by processingly on Unsplash

I’m lost and I’m drowning
Smiling on the outside but inside
I’m permanently frowning.
Those around me refuse to listen,
So they’ll never understand.

I want to make sense of it all
But right now I can barely stand.
I’m broken and so damn rundown.
The pain scorches my veins.
It’s a feeling I cannot escape.

No matter where I go, I’ll never escape that town.
It killed our family.
Scattered us all to the winds.
We’re still breathing.
When will we ever begin healing?

Why is there no justice?
Why was there no help to be found?
I sobbed, screamed, and searched all around.
Everyone turned their backs,
Couldn’t lift a finger to help.

Still, they continued to try to guilt me
Into believing their trope.
Claiming they were only trying to help.
No. They were never our family.
Just damaged and destructive monsters.

--

--

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us)