Social Distortion at the House of Blues in Boston, October 6, 2018

Beware of the Mosh Pit

A mosh pit may seem like a fun place to recapture your youth. But when you are over 40, it’s an absolute cauldron of terror….

David A. Frankel
13 min readOct 13, 2018

--

My wife and I thought we were just going to enjoy a relaxing evening at a concert. Instead, we came “this close” to it turning into an evening of blood, broken hips, ACL tears, and prison shanks. Friends, the cautionary tale I am about to share is not a horror story….it is true…

My wife and I were excited about a long overdue date night. We both enjoy live music, and I was able to score a great deal on floor tickets to see Social Distortion at the House of Blues in Boston. Social D is an alternative, Southern California based punk band who’s heyday was in the late 80s/early 90s. Formed in 1978, the band’s frontman, Mike Ness, is now pushing close to 60 years old. I always enjoyed their music but had never caught one of their shows in person, so when they came to town I figured it might be a good time blow off some steam and to cross it off our “band bucket list.”

The first sign of trouble arose when we were getting ready. Earlier in the day, the Senate had voted to confirm Brett Kavanaugh to the Supreme Court. Without getting into the politics of it all, let’s just say my wife was in a foul mood most of the afternoon. The fun, carefree night out…

--

--

David A. Frankel

Entrepreneur | Advisor | Chief Marketing Officer | General Manager | Data | FinTech Twitter: @DavidAFrankel