About Me

This is the landing page for the “About Me” button on my personal website.

http://davidvanbeveren.nl

Welcome! For one reason or another, you've ended up here, and you want to know a little more about me (23), and my wonderful wife, Samantha (21). ☺

David Van Beveren (last updated 2/1/15)

I'm a weirdo — unconventional, strange, different, these are all words that you could use to describe me. That’s the bad news. The good news is that I surround myself with folks who don't mind that and are equally as strange as myself — I don't deal with conventional issues, relationship wise, friendship wise, or family wise — I lead a carefree, loving, amazing life. I’m honest — open to any idea or theory for discussion, and I communicate everything. I'm pro-agnostic, I have many thoughts on religion, feel free to spark up a conversation with me if you desire :)

Some unconventional things about me: I’m a Master and one of the Co-Founders of Princeton BDSM Institute — I’m a Pet Rat owner, I have never had a “real job”, I never graduated college, I ride the Unicycle, we're active in the swingers community, I run a porn business, I own a legitimate software business for universities, We're Polyamorous, I'm from Holland (Amsterdam), I speak both Dutch and English, but neither well, I've developed both software (mobile apps, iOS/Android), many websites, and games, I also play the piano, badly.

And then back to the normal stuff: I love watching Anime like: Elfenlied, Attack on Titan, Gundam Wing, Shippuden, Aldnoah.Zero, Korra, and so on. I love playing Games like: Advanced Warfare, Metroid Prime, Tenkaichi, Tiny Wings, Rachet & Clank, Spyro & Crash, and Abe’s Oddysee. I love TV Shows like: Seinfeld, The Pretender, House of Cards, Stargate SG1, Star Trek. I like Books like: Enders Games, Eragon, The Giver, Mockingbird, The City of Glass, The Hunger Games, and of course, Clifford the Big Red Dog.

I love cooking. I'm a vegetarian, born and raised — tried going vegan, wish I could, but decided not too — I do refrain from milk and eggs, using alternatives instead. My wife has a black belt in cooking. Some of my favorite foods are dishes with potatoes and sweet potatoes, eggplant, portobello mushrooms, bread/cheese, soups, tofu, and rice/beans.

I love music. I listen to all kinds of music, from the top 40's, to music from various cultures. Here’s a small list: Coldplay, Keane, The Beatles, System of a Down, Disturbed, Tool, Linkin Park, Fort Minor, Sonata Arctica, Schemata Theory, Michael Jackson, The Offspring, Sublime, Shakira, Skrillex, Big Gigantic, Eminem, Lil Wayne, Kid Cudi, Flyleaf, Breaking Benjamin, Black Veil Brides, Avenged Sevenfold, Interpol, Insane Clown Posse, Paramore. As for non traditional music: Dutch music, Iranian Music, Buddha Bar, Cinematic Orchestra, Irish Traditional, and some Turkish mixes.

Random interesting facts. I have a tattoo from Portal (The Companion Cube), Sam has a tattoo from the band Sonata Arctica, We love gardening, I drive for Uber, We travel between the East and West coast frequently for work, Philip Defranco Fan, Cyanide & Happiness Fan, Runescape, Cosplay, Dumpster Diver (black gear, headlights, the whole package), Tiny Houses.

How I spend my day: I spend most of my morning inside on my MacBook (I'm that guy) working, and when I'm finished with work, I try to go out with my wife and enjoy the outdoors. I love paintballing. I love hiking, biking, and longboarding. I love eating out at restaurants, driving my (now sold) Jeep Wrangler and going offroading, or spending time with my pocket pets (my 3 pet rat girls) — lots of cuddles for the wife are included in between. ❤

On weekends, we're really all over the place. We like going out and hanging out with friends, or more often than not, we get lazy and stay home, doing our own thing. We're very active in both the Swinging and BDSM community, so we tend to go out to kinky events, parties, and hotel takeovers. Most of the couples or singles that we play with are also the friends we hang around with — we only surround ourselves with open minded people, and our life is far more fulfilling since that decision. We also like to hit up Mission Beach a lot, just chill, relax and swim, with the occasional failed sand castle. ☹

And the last two things that might be interesting: I’m super active on reddit, love that damn site to death, moderate a bunch of subreddits. I’m also practicing buddhism, we visit a local Monastery semi-regularly and focus on taking elements of buddhism and incorporating it into our lifestyle.

If you’ve come all the way down here and read everything — thank you. ☺

Have a kickass day!

David (& Samantha) Van Beveren

Show your support

Clapping shows how much you appreciated David Van Beveren’s story.