BRILLIANT SOLUTION

David Imani
2 min readDec 2, 2014

--

Arts Funding the Arts

An idealist solution to a not-so-Ideal problem

I was at a talk where Rocco Landesman, Broadway producer and former Chairman of the NEA, was speaking about the sickening lack of funding for performing arts in our country. Obviously, this is no shock since arts programs are cut daily and arts organizations constantly sell cookies and muffins to make a few extra bucks. But it is still heart-breaking.

Arts Advocate Protesting Budget Cuts in Massachusetts

As he was talking, all I could think about were the few arts and entertainment companies that don’t struggle and, in fact, have excess! I’m talking about big-name corporations: WB, NBC, Disney (I know I’m always talking about them, but bear with me). These corporations make millions.

So I went to talk with Rocco afterwards because he’s brilliant. As we were chatting, it hit me: WHY AREN’T THESE BIG ENTERTAINMENT COMPANIES FUNDING THE STRUGGLERS??

Why doesn’t Disney sponsor 2 theater companies each year? Why doesn’t WB fund the drama program at Burbank High School? Why doesn’t NBC underwrite a new work premiering at a regional theater?

I asked Rocco why the NEA doesn’t partner with large arts and entertainment corporations to help fund the smaller, struggling ones. He was silent for a moment. Then said, “I honestly don’t know.”

Imagine this concept applying to all the arts. Think of how wonderful it would be if the Museum of Fine Arts sponsored a visual arts course at a local Boston high school. Or if Atlantic Records supported a music program at an elementary school. If Alvin Ailey underwrote a struggling dance studio.

As I’ve learned in previous conversations, I know the arts rank low on the list of needs. However, their importance in our education system and our society is, or should be, blatant. I believe this concept could create a circular system that sustains support for the arts and arts education.

Anyone else out there trying to think of new ways to save the dying arts in our country? What are your ideas?

--

--

David Imani

A theater-obsessed PR lover searching for great CSR in the world of entertainment. If it doesn’t exist, I’ll introduce it. If it does exist, I’ll make it better