I’m Writing A Book About Roblox!

David Jagneaux
3 min readJun 25, 2017

--

The Ultimate Roblox Book: An Unofficial Guide — Learn How to Build Your Own Worlds, Customize Your Games, and So Much More!

The cover for the book!

I’m happy to announce that I’m writing a book that’s all about Roblox. The book is being published by Adams Media, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Inc. You can see the official listing for it here, on the publisher’s actual webpage, and pre-order your copy from a variety of retailers like Amazon and Barnes & Noble. And on the right side of that page are social media buttons. I’d love if you could hit share to let people know!

If you’re unfamiliar with Roblox it’s one of the most popular game platforms out there, mostly with kids between the ages of 8–15, and has millions of people that logon to play each and every month. There are thousands of games to play, mostly for free, ensuring there’s something out there for everyone. It draws a lot of comparisons to Minecraft but is actually very different and has been around a while longer.

More than that though, Roblox is unique in that anyone can download the Roblox Studio program to build their own game worlds for people to enjoy. It’s a good way for gamers (especially younger gamers) to dabble with game development ideas.

The book will serve as a summary of Roblox and what you can do inside the game as well as a primer on how to build your own games, game worlds, and how to get involved with its more advanced features like scripting. It’s targeted at the younger demographic so it doesn’t get too involved with nitty-gritty details.

I can’t go into too many details about the nature of my contract or anything like that, but it’s an actual book deal — this isn’t a self-published project. They approached me with the idea and I agreed to write it. I’ve been paid a partial advance with more coming once I fully finish the first draft and I’ll get royalty payments on every copy sold! I’m super excited about the opportunity. Writing something this long is much different than a ~1,000 word article, but the challenge is a lot of fun too.

Currently I am busy wrapping up the writing itself so my publisher can get started with editing, formatting, and getting everything all neat and tidy. The book is slated to release in January of 2018.

If this sounds interesting to you at all then please do me a HUGE favor and pre-order a copy! The number of pre-orders will be important in helping the book get exposure with retailers and building momentum up to the launch.

Relevant website links:

--

--

David Jagneaux

Tech Comms Manager at Meta | Previously: UploadVR, IGN, Forbes, and more | Streams: https://fb.gg/thejaggernautsgaming | He/Him