A10_Show&Tell

David Rogers
2 min readNov 21, 2016

--

The process I went through started with identifying a real world problem that had been bugging me in numerous companies I have worked for. It had bothered me that many companies use so many different tools and methods to communicate with one another for meetings. This really dawned on me at the start of this course when I used 6 different tools in a series of meetings which often had the same participants within them. I chose this topic and aligned it with the glance design brief and began to investigate.

Initial Prototype

I found that both colleagues and friends had similar experiences with communication tools (albeit not as extreme) and the frequency of this problem was what made it important to me. My app was designed to enable people to set up reusable meeting spaces and communicate using a wide range of devices without the need for administration. I designed my application to solve a very simple problem that is extremely frequent for an enormous number of people. I was pragmatic in my approach and did not want to create a solution that was so unique that it no longer solved the problem. Instead I created a fundamentally basic tool that serves one purpose that anyone can use.

Final sketch after all of the feedback given by users

Most of my design decisions came in my restraint to keep the core concepts of the application. Through user testing and feedback I was able to identify usability issues and was able to clear up some of those larger problems. I learned that users have very different ways of problem solving and they were able to raise issues that had never entered my mind.

Final prototype

--

--