Citizenship is obsolete.

Samuela Davidova
3 min readJul 17, 2022

--

The most degrading thing me or my friends are facing (and I discuss this on a daily basis) is being judged by our who’s our passport issuer.

Kazbegi, Georgia. The country offers a visa-free regime for a year to more than 90 nationalities.

Especially on the legal level
Submitting the documents about our banking transactions, ownership, you name it, to get some approval.
Requesting a visa to travel because you were not fortunate enough to get a stronger passport.
Prolonging permission to stay longer in a certain country. PERMISSION. Thanks.

Prague sunrise. A beautiful city with a close-minded mindset. No one accepts responsibility. My foreign friends who wanted to reside there are treated like animals. This made me cancel one cooperation where I was supposed to promote it as a place to go.

But what my passport has in common with me?

I got a passport of the country I was born in. That’s something I couldn’t affect in any possible way.

My passport doesn’t reflect my culture or my mentality. Not even my achievements, skills, aims, my financial status, work, beliefs, or values.

My passport is what it is. It’s just a passport. A bureaucratic tool that is obsolete in the 21st century.

It makes me upset to see how much such a piece of paper can affect the lives of thousands.
It makes me sad to see how people are judged based on the diplomatic relationships of the country that issued their passports.
It makes me disgusted to see racists judging another person for their nationality.

There’s far too much helplessness in this simple act of just ‘show your passport’.

We got so used to it that we do not even reflect or rethink the way things are.

I promote remote work. It’s that thing to live with more options. We got portable computers, the internet, and collaborative tools. Feels like 2022. AND we also have a stupid bureaucratic mindset. As a society, we got used to being treated like animals under surveillance. When everyone is sick, no one considers it a disease anymore.

Is there a way out of there?
Hardly.
There are certain ways to get another passport. Sadly they take years. It is an option though. You can also get citizenship by investing in certain countries. That’s pricy but possible. And you’ll have a flat.

Phu Quoc, Vietnam.

Some quicker hack?

Residencies.

We’re not limited by the number of residencies we can have. And they’re often easier to obtain. Yet, you wanna be clear about the responsibilities your residency requires from you.

They broaden the list of countries where you can travel visa-free. Well played.

And besides, in case of possible future countries lock (we already saw what this looks like), you’ll be allowed to travel, because — well, you know, you have your residency here and there, right ;) This is definitely my favorite reasoning. Just to know I can run away if things got too bad. And they seem to be getting too bad.

Solution?

See liberation.travel for assistance.

When the system is stupid, be the smart one.

#rethink

I also badly love the initiative of Liberland. An ambitious project/country for the 21st century. Proudly its representative to Georgia. ✌🏻 This year I am honored to have a speech at the conference of the Floating Man festival 2022. See you there!

P.S. I write more about remote work on my LinkedIn. I share more of my photos on my Instagram. And, if my writing helped you, you can Buy me a coffee. I use the resources to improve my writing and create even more content.

Your favorite global citizen.

--

--