How to live a better life at half the cost?

Samuela Davidova
6 min readJun 4, 2022

--

I’ve just left the 90-minutes relaxing massage at the high-class massage studio in Ho Chi Ming (Saigon). While paying 20$ and drinking my after-massage tea, I’ve realized I would barely allow myself this kind of standard if I stayed in my home country. So, in seconds I ordered a taxi back home to jump in to write this article.

Thanks to the lifestyle I created, I spend a few days in the Vietnamese mountains, around Ha Giang. One of the most beautiful experiences of my life. Yet, I say this every week to something new. I truly love my life.

A year and a half ago, I moved away from Prague, Czech Republic, my hometown to Tbilisi in Georgia. It was covid, heavy lockdown, and the travels were very restricted. My one-way flight ticket to the unknown cost me 300$, which was quite a lot, but there were no other chances to get in. I was glad I took one of the three planes a week that were flying to Georgia from the whole world. (More about my moving in this article.)

My motivations were to leave the country, get into another environment, work fully remotely, and, eventually, downgrade my costs. Back then, I counted, that despite the moving cost (I had just one piece of luggage, but yet you have some struggles with it), I would start saving more in about 2 to 3 months. I checked the living costs at Numbeo and asked my colleague (a Georgian who lives in Prague) some basic questions. That’s it. I packed and left.

I thought that in the “worst case”, I will change the environment, recharge, explore a new country and culture, make some new friends, and I can always come back. Now I can tell that I will never return to live back in the Czech Republic. (I have some mindset reasons for it.)

In Georgia (this is in the Svaneti area) I’ve found out how much I love the mountains, nature, and hiking. From the capital, I can watch the highest mountains in Europe in about two hours of the ride (Stepantsminda). For me, that’s a real luxury.

The side effect of moving to another country can be (depending on where you come from) significantly downgrading the cost of living WHILE upgrading the life standard. I’ve been raised in “you do not need that much”. Yet, over the last year and a half, I allow myself a much more balanced, relaxed, and simply better life standard, and I wouldn’t go back. Obviously.

To be clear: I live better & I spend less.

It’s not difficult math, yet it’s rather hard for us to accept that it’s not science fiction.

If you lived in something similar aka “I do not need this and that”, “This is unnecessary”, or “I do not need to go to a massage every week or even a month”, I understand. I do not mean to tell that everyone must upgrade their life. No — stay where you are. I am trying to bring (hopefully) different perspectives on life. If someone told me something like that years ago, and I would be able to imagine myself living better — of course, I would go for it.

This is back from 2017 before remote work was cool. I went to Biarritz in South France. I didn’t want to tag it anyhow, so I haven’t called myself a “remote worker”. I just understood that I can take that damn notebook somewhere else and do the job there too. So I did it.

Why would I need a better life standard?

Personally, I live a more minimalistic life. I do not have that many things, I do not attach emotionally to things and I believe in simplicity. Yet, changing my location was eyes opening to me: “Oh my, I can go to the best restaurants in the town and I do not have to check the prices!”. The side effect was obviously, that I started spending more money on my hobbies. I focused on re-searching favorite activities. I tried new things and created new experiences and memories. But mainly — it’s been a beginning of a truly balanced and happy life I take responsibility for.

5 key motivations:

  • You can allow yourself more relaxation. If you act from a relaxed state, you deliver a better job = you can get more cash for your better job. You’re welcome.
  • If you live in a nice environment, you may feel better. I think it feels kinda well to start your business from the beach where you rent a villa than from a shared basement-level flat. But of course — you decide.
  • Especially when beginning, you want to lower your expenses. It’s very frustrating when you cannot afford yet to take a big risk. You restrict yourself, and eventually, you overwork and forget about yourself. Then you burn out and all is gone forever. I know it doesn’t have to be that case, but... been there, done that.
  • Yes, you wanna focus on making more money, rather than lowering the costs. Definitely. Yet, see the points above. If you live better, you feel better, you deliver a higher value. That’s the magic.
  • Have you ever been wondering about early retirement? Yes, it’s real. The founder of Nomad List created an online free calculator, where you can figure out the location for you, where you can move in and retire. It’s called Financial Independence Calculator. You’re welcome.
Krabi, Thailand, 2022. This year, I spend in Thailand already 2 months. It’s one of the top destinations for remote workers, and I understand why. The climate is a little more humid, but one adapts surprisingly quickly. If you have a chance, definitely give it a shot.

Better life starter pack

Okay, okay, it all sounds pretty well I guess. What will you need to get there?

  1. Remote work

Find yourself remote cooperation (in case you do not plan to retire yet). You want to be able to move flexibly. A total async is great, but I guess you will be fine adjusting to the time zone for the benefit of the freedom of the place. Discuss the options with the HR of the company you work for, or find a different job. As best, go freelance and sell your knowledge. (I cover the topic of Remote Work on my LinkedIn).

2. Mindset

I think this is the most limiting thing in all this. For most of us, it’s just difficult to admit that we could live like that, that we deserve it, or whatever else. Sadly, the society we live in is toxic. If you are able to forget it and rethink your life, you’re the hero of the day. You got my full support. I suggest surrounding yourself with other like-minded people (check some expat communities in the location you’d love to visit). Be aware — people who are around you closed in the office, will find zero understanding for you. That’s okay, but do not go to them for advice.

3. Figure out where to go and leave

As I wrote in one of my previous articles, there’s no one best country to live in. My favorite choice is Georgia for many reasons. I’ve also compared Bangkok vs. Dubai for remote work here. However, there are many countries worth visiting. Find the best fit for you at Nomad List. It has a limited amount of views for the free access, but it’s the best source I know.

I suggest writing down the list of your priorities — what’s important for you, and filtering different locations. Observe, and read some stuff — like the blog at Nomad Capitalist. And, my friend helps people to get a residency in Panama, Uruguay, or Paraguay with his Liberation Travel company. Hit him up if you consider these destinations, he’ll be glad to assist.

My favorite residency in Bangkok, Thailand. It’s great to find “your places” all around the world. If self-content, you feel everywhere like home. Just don’t expect every place to be like the one you know. That’s not how it works :)

The most important you’ve already done — you read this article. The point is that even such a simple idea may change the direction of your life. Yes, you can have more for less. And yes, you deserve it. I hope it was inspirational to you and you got some new thoughts. It’s a little difficult for me to see it through the eyes of a novice, so, let me know in the comments what questions you’d have. I’ll be more than happy to cover them in the next articles.

Take care,

Sam

My wish is we all lived a better, fulfilled life at our best. There’s no time to waste time. Live like there’s no tomorrow.

And of course, #remotework for life

You can support my writing and “buy me a book” here for as little as 5 EUR (one-time). Thank you! It will help me to share my thoughts for people to rethink their lives.

For more content, follow me at:
Instagram
LinkedIn

that’s me, yay! Thank you all.

--

--