Clinical Exposure Through My Summer Internship Grant

Davidson Careers
3 min readJul 28, 2022

--

By Ian Brann ‘24

My name is Ian Brann, and I am a rising Junior on the pre-medicine track. I am a chemistry major and have done some research before, but never had any previous clinical exposure. I could not be more pleased with my experience so far this summer. I am working as a summer intern for Black Hills Orthopedics in Rapid City, South Dakota. I have been completing some clinical research for the Hip and Knee Center and shadowing and learning in a hands-on environment. The opportunity has been far better that I could have ever imagined, and I have witnessed countless procedures and met hundreds of patients.

My first clinical research project involves metal sensitivity testing in total joint replacement candidates. Hip and knee implants are composed of several different types of metals, and it has been a topic of great discussion as to whether metal insensitivities affect patient outcomes of joint replacement operations. Patients are asked if they have any known insensitivity to metals, such as cheap jewelry or belt buckles, prior to surgery and are tested as needed. Different options of implants are available with varying metal compositions. Ultimately, my goal is to determine how metal insensitivities truly effect patient outcome.

My other project for the Hip and Knee Center at Black Hills Orthopedics is a smoking cessation program for patients that want to have a total joint replacement. Smoking is not only a major risk factors for countless compilations during surgery, but also drastically increases a patient’s risk of infection in total joints. When a total joint implant becomes infected, many additional surgeries and antibiotics may be needed, making a long and difficult recovery for the patient. Therefore, smoking is correlated with longer recovery and worsened patient satisfaction. I have made an informational pamphlet to give to patients and am working on a video covering the specific reasons they should quit smoking prior to their total joint replacement surgery. I also am providing patients with the resources that they need to quit smoking to hopefully lower their risk for complications and help them get back to doing the things they love.

I have been able to observe countless healthcare professionals throughout my experience thus far. I have spent time with pre-operative care nurses, PACU nurses, recovery floor nurses, hospitalists, internal medicine physicians, anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists, physical therapists, imaging technicians, and pharmacists. However, most of my time has been spent with orthopedic surgeons and their PA’s. These providers specialize in total joint replacement, spine, foot and ankle, hand, sports medicine, trauma, pain management, and urgent care treatment. I am so lucky to be able to spend time with such amazing healthcare professionals, and I find it to be so inspiring as I hope to one day become a physician. Seeing patients everyday has made my summer so enjoyable, and I am beyond excited for the journey ahead.

Davidson College student, Ian Brann ’24 wearing a mask working at his summer internship with Black Hills Orthopedics in Rapid City, South Dakota.
Davidson College student, Ian Brann ’24 wearing a mask working at his summer internship with Black Hills Orthopedics in Rapid City, South Dakota.

--

--

Davidson Careers

No matter your major, upon graduation from Davidson, you will enter a world of possibilities.