Physician Peer-Support Prevents Burnout and Increases Engagement

Davidson Careers
3 min readJun 13, 2023

--

By: Lilly Sirover ‘24

This summer, I have the incredible opportunity to work at Cooper University Hospital’s (CUH) level-one trauma center under the mentorship of Dr. Nicole Fox (MD, MPH, FACS) and Davidson Alum, Dr. John Porter ’81. I was extremely fortunate to receive a Summer Internship Grant through the Matthews Center for Career Development, specifically the Juliana Tazewell Porter Memorial Internship fund, to support this work.

Dr. Fox started a physician peer-support program at CUH. Through this program, peer-supporters offer non judgemental and confidential support to physicians involved in critical patient events, traumatic personal events, or to those experiencing stress from any cause. A 2011 study found that nearly 80% of resident and attending physicians faced either an adverse patient event or a traumatic personal event in the preceding year. Given the prevalence of these experiences and their association with anxiety, depression, and burnout, this program offers support to physicians, from a peer who understands these experiences.

This summer, I am collecting and analyzing retrospective data to make conclusions about the effectiveness of the program and further understand who is accessing the program and why. One intention of this project is to improve our program. Another intention is to publish a manuscript documenting our conclusions and outlining our process of establishing a physician peer-support program, to share with other healthcare professionals. I also completed the training that our peer-supporters complete as part of our program.

Another element of my work this summer is creating a Canvas page for the course related to this program taught at Cooper Medical School of Rowan University. This course is called “Building a Culture of Peer-Support in Medicine.” This course introduces the medical students to the concept of peer-support and its impact on decreasing physician burnout and increasing engagement.

It has been rewarding to use my organizational and technological skills to analyze data and create a course page. It has also been rewarding to write a manuscript and promote a culture of trust and collegiality in medicine. I am learning how to actively listen and support my peers who may be stressed or burned-out, or have experienced traumatic events. For me personally as an aspiring physician, I know that I will have my own stressful experiences. I am learning the importance of “taking my own temperature” and preventing burnout through positive coping mechanisms, such as exercise.

I am also shadowing the trauma team in the emergency department, in the trauma bay, and in surgeries. I am learning a lot from observing cases and witnessing first-hand how healthcare professionals work as a team. I am excited to continue shadowing the trauma team and working with Dr. Fox on this project. I am grateful for the Matthews Center for Career Development for supporting this opportunity that will prepare me to become an emotionally-intelligent physician.

Davidson College student Lilly Sirover ’24 standing on a rooftop platform overlooking many buildings in a downtown area. Lilly is wearing blue scrubs, cap, and a yellow mask.

--

--

Davidson Careers

No matter your major, upon graduation from Davidson, you will enter a world of possibilities.