Pro Cats Bootcamp & The Matthews Center — Turning Points to Finding an Internship

Davidson Careers
2 min readApr 3, 2023

--

By Grant Huffman ‘24

This winter, I accepted a position to work with Stryker Orthopedics as a sales intern. I will be working with one of the most successful branches in the country located in Dallas, TX. Securing the right internship can be a huge steppingstone for one’s career. However, finding one can be a daunting task that requires extensive preparation, networking, and effort. Working with the Career Center and completing the Pro Cats Bootcamp were turning points in my experience finding an internship, as I gained valuable skills that led to obtaining the internship. That will stay with me for the remainder of my professional career.

The Pro Cats Bootcamp was extremely beneficial for my professional development. We completed a variety of exercises including salary negotiation, learning professional communication tips and tricks, mock interviews, and a networking event with Davidson alumni. I found these exercises extremely applicable when looking for a job/internship. By doing these exercises, I became more confident in professional settings, which allowed me to excel in interviews, emails, and phone calls.

Throughout my two and a half years at Davidson, I have worked closely with the Matthews Career Center and specifically, Associate Director, Josh King. With his help, I’ve acquired one of my dream internships and I couldn’t be more grateful for everything he has done. Josh not only made my experience working with him a productive, but also enjoyable.

Photo of Davidson College student, Grant Huffman ’24, wearing a red Davidson basketball jersey with the number 5 on the front. Also wearing a gold chain necklace, sitting in front of a grey backdrop.

--

--

Davidson Careers

No matter your major, upon graduation from Davidson, you will enter a world of possibilities.