Your personal tactic to control every conversation you are in

Dean Woods
5 min readOct 5, 2019
Photo by Joshua Ness on Unsplash

A few months ago, I was on the phone with a business associate of mine. He’s about 20 years older than me. He makes more than a million dollars a year, and it’s not an exaggeration to say that decisions he makes impact billions of dollars.

Essentially, he is an influential dude. He should run all over me in every conversation we ever had.

But, in this case, I was on the phone with him while pacing my apartment. My girlfriend was listening to my side of the conversation.

I got off the phone, and she looked over. She cocked her head to the side and said: “you know, you control every single conversation you’re in.”

But, think about who was on the phone. He definitely should have controlled it, not me.

It didn’t used to be like that. Once, when I was younger, I had a dispute with a teacher. We had a test in her class where we needed to mark whether or not a word was an adjective or an adverb. I marked the word an adjective, and the teacher marked me wrong.

I looked it up in the dictionary and I was right-the teacher made a mistake. I brought the dictionary into school the next day to show her.

Even with the literal right answer on my side, she belittled me. She berated me, in front of the…

--

--

Dean Woods

Startup executive, recovering consultant, Wharton Grad. I write about real startups (my venture backed day job) and micro-startups (my bootstrapped nights)