The IMPOSSIBILITY of Pleasing Everyone

So, I’m sure you’ve heard people say “you can’t make everyone happy.” Well, I’m here to let you in on a little secret… you should listen to those people!! Mind Blown… I know!

Decisions Day
3 min readAug 11, 2020

But on a serious note, when you try to please everyone, at least from my experience, you end up pleasing absolutely no one INCLUDING yourself.

I am a self proclaimed people pleaser. It makes me physically uncomfortable, to the point where I sometimes get hives when I know someone around me is unhappy or uncomfortable. So I immediately go into problem solving mode. What does the person need? What can I give them to make them happy? Are they hungry? Sad? Angry? What if I trip and make fun of myself? Will that make it better? Will that ease the tension? What if I give them the last ice cream bar in the freezer, that I’ve literally been thinking about and wanting all day? Will that make it better?

No… No… and in most cases… No!

I’m not saying it’s wrong to try to make the people around you happy, but when it is at the detriment of yourself I believe that is not only unhealthy, but also unnecessary. Furthermore, when you find yourself in the company of the right people they wouldn’t want you to act this way either.

A few weeks ago I was faced with a decision that caused me a lot of unnecessary stress solely because I couldn’t find the words to just be honest. Someone I loved very much was put in a stressful situation and I was in a position to help. However, I was not the only person who could help and in helping I would have had to put my dreams and future on the back burner. At first I told this person, “yes, of course..” While knowing in the back of my mind it was the wrong choice for myself. I put that person above my goals and in this case it wasn’t necessary. I wasn’t the only solution and frankly I wasn’t the best solution.

What I’m trying to say here is simply weigh the pros and cons in a situation. If someone you care about needs help, but it isn’t a dyer issue or someone else is more suited to help, then relax and let someone else handle it. You don’t always need to be the hero… I have to repeat this saying in my head all the time. I don’t need to save everyone around me. I don’t need to drown in order to save the people around me, and neither do you.

I’ve even put myself in silly situations like going out to dinner with a friend when I KNOW I have no money, just because that friend is sad or needs a pick me up.

So next time a friend needs help make sure you are solid, make sure you are the best option, make sure you don’t need help too…

It’s hard to look inside yourself in this way and trust me I know you think you’re letting people down or disappointing them because you can’t help. But the truth is the people you want to see succeed, they want to see you succeed too. However, the only way to do that is to put yourself first when it counts.

If you’ve surrounded yourself with the right group of people, they’ll be cheering you on!

And that’s all I have for you guys, I truly hope this helps you grow your confidence and nurture yourself first!

Thank you for reading, please like this article if you enjoyed it and share with anyone you think might need to hear this!

I love you all, spread kindness, and make the most out of every day! CARPE DIEM ❤

*

*

*

*

Thank you for reading, please like this article if you enjoyed it and share with anyone you think might need to hear thi!ove #showyourwork #loveyourself #chooseyou #strongertogether #carpediem #decisionsday

--

--