My Final 30 Days in a Cubicle

Declan Wilson
Declan’s Blog
Published in
3 min readApr 27, 2017

--

A few random thoughts as I prepare to exit the corporate world

“I hear you’re leaving us? Where are you going?” She asked as we walked into the office together.

“Nowhere. I’m going to go work for myself.” I answered.

This week I finally made public my impending departure from my current employer on June 9th. Word is starting to get around. People are asking questions.

2 years ago I interviewed someone for my book who had left their corporate job to run a coffee subscription company.

“How did it feel to finally leave?” I asked him.

“It felt normal, like it was the next step.” He answered.

I didn’t believe them. Surely someone who gets to escape the rat race to do something they love must feel some sort of excitement.

Now that I’m in his position, I totally understand. Everything about my situation feels… normal.

Yes I get to leave the confines of a cubicle and work when and where I want. Yes I get to spend more quality time with my son. Yes I get to be my own boss and work on projects I’m passionate about.

But leaving my job feels like the next step. Nothing more.

--

--

Declan Wilson
Declan’s Blog

I'm not currently active on Medium but you can see what I'm up to here→ declanwilson.co/start-here