Just Published My First Coloring Book on KDP and Now What?

Dee.O
3 min readNov 6, 2022

Hello everyone, I will not be direct right away in this post and I apologize right away. First, you will get to read a paragraph or two about me, as a nice and neat introduction to how I got to be on this platform and how I got to go on Kindle Publishing.

Source: https://insight.ng/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/how-to-publish-on-kindle-direct-publishing-kdp.png

Something you don’t know about me is that I am an MSc in Gastronomy Management, and I have been working in the Hospitality industry up until recently. I have enjoyed this Industry, I have both the education, the passion, and the brains but also the hardworking factor, or better said, the ambition size of Earth. And, working in Hospitality isn’t easy, just like it’s not in any field, and it’s harder when you’re a woman, and even harder when you’re in a third-world country, but that is not the point. I’ll get to it soon, promise.

So, in September, I got on this platform, and made a Ko-fi profile, trying to get experience in both writing and graphic design, but also trying to sell some of my artwork. I even started volunteering at TED Translators so that I would gain experience at that too since I have neither education nor experience in these fields, but I had to get them.

Now, if you got to this part, probably ask, “Why?”, “Why do all that?”. Well, the answer is, I have an injury that is asking me to save my arm from any physical work if I want to get better. And if I don’t it’ll just get worse, and if I do, I will eventually, no one knows when exactly, get better. So, because of that, I had to start looking for jobs that aren’t going to pressure my arm, but I also have at least some knowledge or talent.

Well, that was one long intro, don’t you think? And not related to the Title of this blog. Without further due, my first coloring book. It’s been almost 2 months without any income, and I was thinking what am I doing wrong? Why is this happening to me, again? Why is it that I have to start over, again? I spent six years working towards something, and now, everything went to hell (sorry for my language).

Author: Dušica Obrenović (me :D)

After a while, I started thinking about what else is there that I could try to earn money, and I got across Kindle Publishing. I, of course, would like to publish food-related books, and the science behind them, but, right now, I wanted to start with something that I can finish quickly and that is more generic and trendy. And, that is how I got the idea to make a coloring book and wor it to be Halloween-themed.

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/986921705819660194/

To be completely honest, I didn’t think it would get published this soon, or even at all, but Yesterday, I got an email saying that my coloring book is officially live on amazon.com and other marketplaces. I was so excited and still am, cause it’s my first publishing if we don’t count research papers. While I’m happy that I got to this, that wasn’t the hardest part. The hardest part is this one, now, marketing. Getting my coloring book to a wide range of audiences and selling it to them.

I have made a short video and posted it on TikTok, Instagram, and Pinterest, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed. If there is anyone that has some advice for me, please share it, I would appreciate it a lot. And of course, as always have a nice morning, day or night :D

--

--

Dee.O

Food&Science ǀ Entertainment ǀ Gaming ǀ Everything in Between