Creating good creative work!

Deep
2 min readApr 7, 2018

--

As I sit here debating what I want to write for my first blog post, a quote from Ira Glass keeps entering my mind,
What nobody tells people who are beginners . . . is that all of us who do creative work, we get into it because we have good taste. But there is this gap. For the first couple of years, you make stuff, and it’s just not that good. It’s trying to be good, it has potential, but it’s not. However your taste, the thing that got you into the game, is still excellent… It is only by going through a volume of work that you will close that gap… You’ve just gotta fight your way through it.”

This can be difficult to work through; however, the process is rewarding. By following the taste you have for good work and continuing to create despite failures, only builds confidence in your own taste. Although you may never feel satisfied with what you’ve spent hours creating, this ultimately drives creativity. The more I create, the more I learn and continue to improve my work. After countless unacceptable videos and disappointing projects, I am going to continue to do what inspires me.

Inevitably, I have learned a great deal from these moments of failures, and I have also found that each day contains triumphs. Projects continue to teach me something new. The more I create, the better I become. You must be fearless to be creative, simultaneously trusting your taste and learning from failures. This balance can be hard to strike, and only comes from trial and error. My dedication to my craft, allows me to do something that can potentially captivate the world. Regardless of industry, amazing work requires practice, patience, and perseverance.

--

--

Deep
0 Followers

Talking about how to maneuver the treacherous path that life offers us.