Democratic Governors
2 min readJul 12, 2016

This has been by far the most challenging few weeks in my professional life. I understood cognitively that I was facing a crossroads in my evolution as a governor and as a man, and that it came with exceptionally difficult choices. What I didn’t truly understand, however, was the range of emotions I would feel during this process.

The primary mandate I had for making this decision was to have it based on the potential for my growth as a politician — as that focus has guided me throughout my career.

I’m from Indiana originally, but Washington, D.C. truly raised me. It taught me so much about what it means to be a politician. From pushing divisive social issues to failing to lead on the economy, I learned everything I’ve done as governor from my time in Congress.

This week, I had to decide: Do I really want to be governor of Indiana? Or do I want to publicly beg for Donald Trump to rescue me from this job?

Today, I’ve announced my decision: I want to take my talents to Washington, D.C. I want Donald Trump to choose me as his vice presidential nominee.

I fully understand that it would be harder for me to run for governor after publicly begging Donald Trump for a promotion. And I’m willing to accept that.

Two months ago, I told you I didn’t want to be vice president, and that “My focus is on Indiana.” But my focus was never about Indiana alone. No, it was always about something much bigger: Mike Pence.

Thank you Indiana, for being my stepping-stone. I wouldn’t be in this position had I not been able to use the governor’s office as a rung in the ladder of my political career.

That’s why I blocked federal pre-K funding, passed the job-killing RFRA law that cost the state more than $60 million, and signed an anti-women’s health law that even Republican legislators said was too extreme.

Why did I do this? To elevate my national profile.

As I weighed this decision, know that it is a true honor to be presented with the chance to set aside my governorship to pursue my national ambitions. I think I’ve made it clear where I prefer to be.

Thanks for the memories, Hoosiers.

Democratic Governors

Democratic Governors Association. Electing Democratic governors since 1983.