Dear candidate

Denny K. Schuldt
2 min readJan 16, 2024

--

A poem written by Denny K. Schuldt.

Dear candidate,
I hope these verses find you well.
They contain some feelings that as of right now I want to tell.
I like to play with words and channel some emotions,
so, here are some thoughts for you to have a notion.

But first please be aware,
that I’m seeking a relationship where we’re both taken care of.
I’ve always thought it’s more about forming a team,
rather than you do you and I do me, which I consider mean.

I’m not just another catch.
I’m smart and live my life forgoing my own path.
I’m interested in genuine souls,
those who know who they are and for their lives have clear goals.

Please, do not hold back.
Paint your life with colors instead of having it all black.
But know that sometimes even if it has neon I cannot see
when someone’s trying to tell something unless they’re explicit with me.

Oh, and I love dogs!
In fact I have a Pinscher that I purely adore.
I hope you love dogs too for they are heaven’s gift.
Ever since I got one my days have had a lift.

I’ve been hurt in the past,
but I won’t let anyone again skip my feelings so fast.
I’m a stronger person now, but my essence remains sweet.
You’ll be welcomed to my candy shop if you also bring your treats.

I’m waiting for a partner with whom I could meet new places,
and in each one of them finding our own spaces.
Do you like going out for food?
I know a lot of places that trust me, are really good.

Naturally it’s not always about going out.
Sometimes it is good to stay at home without taking any route.
We could watch some movies and make popcorn on the microwave,
and turn the lights off, so we feel we’re in a cave.

Dear candidate,
Thanks for reading this far.
These are all just glimpses of what we both could one day have.
Are you interested in a application?
Know that this will require quite some dedication.

Copyright © Denny K. Schuldt 2024

“Dear candidate, I hope these verses find you well.”

--

--

Denny K. Schuldt

A contemporary lyric poet seeking beauty of the mind, richness of the spirit, tenderness of the heart. 🪶