Sweet memory

--

A poem written by Denny K. Schuldt.

Oh sweet memory,
you’re making me prisoner without committing a felony.
Dates are just numbers, years are just cyclical,
yet flashbacks come to my mind on the ones that are critical.

Sweet sweet memory,
you play me with the notes of your own melody.
I’m just an actor following the lines,
saying new phrases but feeling the old ones.

My dear sweet memory,
set me free from this same old territory.
We both know the roads and all the signs,
I want to walk calm without the fear of the mines.

Copyright © Denny K. Schuldt 2024.

“Dates are just numbers, years are just cyclical, yet flashbacks come to my mind on the ones that are critical.”
“Dates are just numbers, years are just cyclical, yet flashbacks come to my mind on the ones that are critical.”

--

--

Denny K. Schuldt

A contemporary lyric poet seeking beauty of the mind, richness of the spirit, tenderness of the heart. 🪶