The Positive Black News Network

Derrick Grant
1 min readJan 24, 2017

--

I created PBNN because I’m often overwhelmed by notifications highlighting police brutality, racism and corruption.

I find it hard to imagine that the ‘have you seen the latest police killing video’, text message I too often receive, helps me create a balanced image of myself, as a black person, living in the western world, as part of a minority.

Racism should be highlighted and fought anywhere it’s found but it’s also important that we celebrate the achievements of our community and enrich ourselves with the endless possibilities of our peers. I wanted to create an app which attempts to address this need with data, facts and a little history. It also puts a smile on my moms face every week (She sends photos via whats app lol) and there are few notifications that I hold in higher esteem than that. I hope you enjoy PBNN as much as she does.

#fubu

--

--

Derrick Grant

Product Designer with a love of typography @Derrick_l_grant