How Hearthstone Onboards New Users (a guide for UX designers)

Derrick Grant
1 min readOct 6, 2015

--

As a product person I have a unhealthy obsession with onboarding users. As a video game player I recognise the gaming industry has a 20 year head start in the art of interaction design.

Partly inspired by a GDC talk explaining that Hearthstone is a game devised of ‘purely interface.’

Partly inspired by this great ‘Product Onboarding and Video Games’ article by Gaurav Kulkarni and equally illuminated by the design bounty that is useronboard.com I decided to map Hearthstones first time user journey.

https:///www.slides.com/derrickgrant/deck-1

What is your favourite onboarding game experience?
Let me know and I’ll cover more gaming onboarding journeys.

Hit me up on Twitter derrick_l_grant or drop me a line to derrick.lloyd.grant@gmail.com.

--

--

Derrick Grant

Product Designer with a love of typography @Derrick_l_grant