OD Green Firearm Oil: Review

Dilley_Esq
5 min readJan 15, 2017
Lubed up a bone-dry, brand new M&P 15 Sport II.

A lot of gun oils claim to be the ‘one lube to rule them all’. These are typically labeled as CLPs; CLP refers to a gun product that can be used to Clean, Lubricate, and Protect. While most firearm oils claim to be able to do each thing incredibly well, you must realize that there are often compromises in at least one area. This product by OD Green Oil performs very well and might just become “your new go to oil”. According to the OD Green Oil website, their Firearm Oil is “specially formulated from high quality materials specifically picked for viscosity, lubrication, and cleaning abilities.” To be clear, this product is not touted as a Protectant (though most oils will provide a level of protection by default). I have not tested the protection capabilities of this product, as that typically involves adverse conditions and long-term testing in such conditions. I am not prepared to commit one firearm to such testing at this time. My review is limited to testing over a 3-week period, from the perspective of a person who carries a concealed firearm daily and is a recreational shooter.

3 drops of oil (OD Green on the Left; other popular CLP on right) side by side on flat sheet of paper.
3 drops of oil (OD Green on the Left; other popular CLP on right) side by side on sheet of paper held vertically.

Initial Impressions

The OD Green Oil is a very viscous product. I’ve compared it to several oils that I have in my cleaning kit and range bag and it is generally thicker than the others. The oil is very low odor (I would describe as virtually odorless when compared with some other harsh chemical gun cleaning supplies). Not surprisingly, OD Green touts a green hue; though, when it is applied properly (i.e. thinly), the green color is virtually unnoticeable. When squeezing some of the OD Green from the generous 4-ounce bottle, it flows freely but I would not describe it as thin or watery. When you squeeze a little out onto a sheet of paper, it forms a consistent bubble on the surface rather than soaking into the paper immediately. Application to the rails of your firearms, or to the bolt and bolt carrier group of an AR-15 is eased by this oil’s thickness. It does not run/drip easily, which I view as a positive; this allows it time for the product to work itself into the right places and not off the gun. This is a great positive to viscosity, in that it sticks to the gun.

Pre-Treating and Range Test

Upon receipt of this product, I stripped two handguns of another CLP I had been using, then cleaned and lubricated each with OD Green. The product applied easily; although I would appreciate a smaller, perhaps needle applicator, nozzle to allow more precise application to handguns. During a normal trip to the range, both handguns fired without issue. Additionally, I had the opportunity to shoot a brand new Smith & Wesson M&P 15 Sport II rifle at the range that day. It was bare of any real lubricant (with exception of some factory packing grease) and it was very gritty when cycling the bolt and charging handle. Just a few quick drops of OD Green on the bolt carrier group and charging handle and the rifle was running slick with no grit.

After returning home from the range, I purposefully neglected cleaning my guns for several days. I figured this would allow the range crud to stick to the gun better and give me a better assessment of cleaning performance. To my surprise, I wiped most of the gun down with a dry t-shirt and patches and zero oil. The gun cleaned right up with ease.

Barrel and Feed Ramp of CZ P-09; one swipe of a dry t-shirt patch.

Cold Weather Performance

If a weapon lube is too viscous, that can play against you and your firearm. This is especially true in the case of cold temperatures and for the concealed carrier. In low temps, thicker gun oils have the potential to become too viscous and slow down the action and reliability of a firearm. I performed a cold weather test on this oil. I placed the bottle outside in a pile of snow and left it overnight in 20 degree temperatures (8 hours at 22–24° F). In the morning, I removed the bottle from the snow and poured the lube from the bottle. As uninteresting as it may seem, here is a video of that pour.

As you can see the oil is slightly thick, but it was not frozen and still poured freely from the bottle. It was not sluggish and I have zero doubt that it would impede the function of any firearm.

3 Weeks on a Carry Gun:

One positive to viscosity, is that it sticks to the gun. You will still find lubricant on the gun whether it has been in the kydex holster inside your waistband for weeks, at the range for hundreds of rounds, or (as I fully expect) in your gun safe for months. However, with viscosity, comes the risk of impeding the cycling of your gun due to excess oil, lint, debris, and firearm residue (lead, carbon, other fouling). After three weeks of concealed carry, I found that this gun did not have any excess lubrication inside of my holster, nor did it have an abnormal level of lint and debris. There was, however, still a thin coat of OD Green on the slide rails and barrel. I will continue to use this oil on my carry gun, as I believe it has held up to my demands of daily carry.

Overall Rating: * * * * * (Five Stars)
OD Green Firearm Oil is a low cost and low odor oil that will clean your guns very well and keeps them running slick.

Website: www.ODGreen.Org

MSRP: $9.99 / 4 oz.

For More, be sure to follow me: Dilley_Esq (Firearm related content can be found on my Flipboard Magazine: Guns and Tactical)

  • Disclaimer — this product was provided for testing without compensation to either party. The results and opinions of this product are my own.

--

--

Dilley_Esq

Father, husband, attorney, and opinionated individual. My interests include family, freedom, firearms, law, and politics.