Personal Development Leads to Engagement

Dillon Mitchell
4 min readMay 4, 2019

--

Personal Development has been a huge part of me over the last 6 years. In undergrad I didn’t take the time to do much outside of school, even though I had the time. I just spent it playing video games, hanging out with friends and drinking. Taking a year off of school and just enjoying life. Soon though getting bored and knowing that I had way more time on my hands than I needed. Getting my MBA was really the start of personal development. I read business books, mainly for school. Yet it got me back in the habit of reading. Then changing jobs and getting into the world of construction taught me that there is much more to the world that I just don’t know (and still don’t).

Then in 2015 when I took a job where I was managing between two offices and had a 2 hour drive each week I realized that I couldn’t just listen to music. That’s just not my style. After having read the 4-hour work week and doing some Googling of Tim Ferriss I found that he had a podcast and they were these long-form conversations with some really interesting people. I thought, yeah that sounds interesting, let me try it. Then I became obsessed and was listening to a lot of content. Then I bought a subscription to Audible and was listening to a book a month on top of the podcasts.

This was pretty much everything that I listened to and really started me on a self-improvement journey. In podcasts they could talk about something before it was ever in print. Literally talking about things faster than a book could be written and edited. From there I just started picking up more and more books. Learning about all types of business, psychology, finance, team building. Yet with still hundreds of books out there to read.

Reading and podcasts have made me better. They’ve improved how I think, my reaction to problems and looking for solutions. Influence is the best way to describe it. Spending more time with some of these podcasters than most other people. They become imprinted on me and help me, without ever meeting them. As well as the decision I made to join Arete and the amazing group of people that I’m now a part of and spend a lot of time with.

Vaughn Kohler and I at Arete Syndicate Live

That all leads me to this weekend. Making decisions that will improve my life. Lauren has been that person for me. She’s supported me in building my company. Told me when something was dumb and when was the right thing. Getting engaged was an easy decision. Sure we’ve had our ups and downs and location wasn’t always the easy thing. Especially when I didn’t believe in myself and abilities. Today I believe more in myself, there are still moments of doubt. Just with a bigger support network.

Lauren is also an avid podcast listener on true crime, law, venture capital pitches and shows like Serial. While not all the same, it’s an appreciation for learning and growing.

Growth is big for me. Growth is what keeps me moving forward and is important to have in someone else.

I want to grow a company, create an environment of positive reinforcement and to have something good come from what we do. Getting engaged just seemed like the right next step. After living together for the last 8 months and things going well and I don’t see myself going anywhere without her.

Sure we might eventually move, but I don’t see life without her in it. Plans are all in the works for the wedding and we know a good chunk of the details. Now it’s just working out the rest of them.

Professional and Personal Development helped me grow up and without it I don’t know where I would be. Sure, I would have progressed in my career as an engineer, but I don’t know if I would have gotten to where I am today. Reading, Podcasts and Audible all helped me to get to where I am today and be happier both in my relationship with Lauren, who I am as a person and where I am heading in building a company.

Right after I proposed

Smile, it’s been good,

Dillon

--

--

Dillon Mitchell

Electrical Engineer, ultra endurance athlete (100 km, 50 miler, 2x Ironman), business owner, Fiance.