Blue Duck Tavern: Restaurant of the Month

Jessica van Dop DeJesus
3 min readDec 3, 2014

--

I recently visited the Washington DC Park Hyatt to curate a list of hotels for the holidays. Mark, the general manager saved the best for last: The Blue Duck Tavern Restaurant. As I entered the restaurant from the lobby I was welcomed by the staff creating apple pies made from scratch and gorgeous fig crumble. Before I could indulge, I had to run back to the office.

That Apple Pie
Thankfully, a week after I had the opportunity to dine at The Blue Duck Tavern and indulge in the fall menu by its chef, Ryan LaRoche. What makes the menu interesting is the refinement of the classics, think brioche-foie grass stuffing, sweetbreads topped with kimchi and a fig fall crumble. Here’s a visual offering of what one of the most popular restaurants in DC has to offer:

Oven Roasted Bone Marrow

I do not have bone marrow often. I think the last time I had it was in Brugge ages ago. The scent of the bacon with the pistachios topping the bone marrow made me indulge in it right away. It was a favorite among the guests.

The Roasted Pork Rack

Maybe because I’m Puerto Rican but I love pork, it’s my favorite meat. The roasted pork rack was cooked to perfection and the braised collard greens were the perfect companion.

Roasted Squab

The roasted squab was my favorite meal of the evening. I was under the impression that it would taste gamy but it was tender and succulent. The flavor has a close resemblance to duck. The fig preserves on top gave it a special touch and the foie-gras stuffing beneath was a delicious surprise.

Chef LaRoche

The verdict: Why have I lived in DC for two years and just made it to this place? It’s now one of the places I recommend to my colleagues who want to treat their significant other to a special dinner as the price points are high. If you don’t want to cook this year for thanksgiving, The Blue Duck Tavern will have a Thanksgiving dinner. It sounds fabulous!

Originally published at www.diningtraveler.com on December 3, 2014.

--

--

Jessica van Dop DeJesus

International traveler, cook, and eater. Blogging about travel and food from Washington DC. DutchRican Home. Wizards Fan. Se habla español.