Complexity and Economics:for the times

Michael McMaster
1 min readFeb 8, 2017

One of the areas of study in my younger days was with the original founders of the school of Austrian Economics. These also took me back to Adam Smith and other Scottish thinker of the enlightenment period. From this perspective, I became an early member of the Business Network of the Santa Fe Institute engaged in the study of complex adaptive systems, in particular the conversations with Stuart Kauffman. I developed these into the basis for a very successful career in consulting for organizational transformation based organizational design. There was a natural fit between this free market economic theory and complex adaptive systems. I’ve recently written a book on my work titled “What IS Organizational Intelligence?”. More can be found on my web site “disruptiveorganization.ca”. What attracted me to this article was its use of the “economic” and “Commons”. I’d given up hope that anybody even knew about this connection. I think the article is a wonderful contribution to returning sound thinking linking complexity, economics, self-organization and, dare we hope, an economics for our times. Great article!

--

--