Lauren Parker
1 min readNov 7, 2016

--

Hi Nathan,

Thanks for that insight! That tampon mold thing is horrifying. I have never had that happen but now I’ll be looking more closely. I’m glad your partner has benefited from the Diva Cup. To clarify my trans man and non-binary inclusion, it was more a comment that a lot of LGBTQ people use these products (not just women) and in our society a lot of them live below the poverty line. It was more including them in the experience than talking about their experience specifically.

This isn’t the Diva Cup’s fault necessarily but if I were a butch I wouldn’t want to use a product that has “diva” in the marketing. That might be nitpicky but I’m glad you recommend the product. I’ve also used the period underwear (which was a disaster but I only tried one kind), the Softcup, and all sorts of variety of pads. Softcup I used for a while but were cost prohibitive and when I removed them dumped blood all over me, the floor, the sink, the wall, and the toilet without fail. And blood is not an easy substance to get out.

But all in all LET IT ALL BE FREE. Give people access to any product that works and then improve all the stuff that exists.

Thanks for contributing!

--

--

Lauren Parker

Writer. Poet. Columnist for Autostraddle. She/her. Harbinger of chaos. Support my work on patreon.com/laurenparker.