Falling In Style

Oisín
2 min readAug 23, 2022

--

We’re all just angels falling or flying in style
Oh and I know a few angels myself all dressed up
in black and white tuxedo skin just waiting for the
best party they have ever seen in their life

They all gather around to hear each other sing
their siren song of sorrow as they fall down
Down so far in to the pits of hell and then
after that some of them fly so high

There is this one angel I know so beautiful
but she doesn’t know it, so blessed
but she doesn’t know it, so fallen
but she doesn’t know it, she thinks she’s on earth

She has been falling slowly for so long
that she didn’t realize that she slipped out of reality
right into the devil’s hands, and he holds his hands
clasped tight around her throat so she can’t sing

I know this because I see the devil’s handprints
around her neck just like a bloody necklace
draped around her like a thorny crown
as it presses into her jugular

The devil used to drown me in the lakes of fire
but I escaped with my last breath as I spat
Ice through that river just to cool it down
enough to see clearly through the water

I started swimming because I am no sinker
I swam till my arms gave out then I kicked
with my legs and then once those gave out
I started floating back up to the surface

The devil always wins when you give up
He wants to see you suffer and fail
but that is the true test that we all
die to see before we live

So I broke out of that paralysis and
started swimming back to shore
Finally returning to my homeland
that was always just out of reach

That’s when I looked back down
into that deep pit of fire
and I saw all those angels
crying their sad songs

I plant one foot on the shore
as I anchor the other down into
the bottom of the ocean
reaching out for anyone to take my hand

Most fish don’t bite but
I know if I keep casting my lifeline
back into hell I will either burn it up
or find someone to fish alongside me

I thought hell was the loneliest place
but maybe that was heaven

--

--

Oisín

Just another poet vomiting their brain onto a keyboard.