In Defense of Pears

Don Cue
1 min readNov 30, 2016

A few weeks ago I decided to speak for those who couldn’t and to advocate for the voiceless and maligned. Clearly pears are voiceless and your fruit bashing is one-sided.

I think I see the problem with your thesis. It begins with Harry and David. You see, those poor pears are plucked probably weeks before they were ready. They are treated with some stuff, I suspect, to make them more appealing.

Find a pear tree, or an apple orchard with pears. (Time your visit carefully, because pears are ripe for about fifteen minutes before they become a pear shaped sponge of juice.) when you bite into an actual mature fresh pear, you will understand.

Forgo the adolescent pears you see portrayed in the media, choose instead the joys of a mature pear, rubenesque and juicy.

--

--

Don Cue

I live in the desert, but travel the world, seeing what looks and tastes good. I’m a designer, technologist, baker, builder, writer & incurable romantic.