Gaining Intel on Blue Sky Studios: Who Acted Best?

Donnie Lopez
5 min readApr 22, 2020

--

Left, Tom Holland: Right, Walter

As a native born and raised Texan, I rarely find myself in the north east area, specifically, New York and Connecticut. This is shocking because most gays thrive in major metropolitan areas. Yet, this day was different. I was invited for an all-day set visit of Blue Sky Studios, and I was not about to turn away the opportunity to show off my acting skills and finally get the chance to beat Tom Holland at his own game.

In February, I was on my way to Blue Sky Studios. I decided to take a stroll from New York to Connecticut (my plane somehow landed in New York and the studio is in Connecticut). I could tell that this was going to be great when the studio loaded a bus filled with several other members of the press and their kids. It seemed perfect enough, yet after the kids and their parents got on the bus, I found myself in the smallest seat possible, it was almost as if each seat managed to somehow get smaller the further back, but I didn’t care. I was headed to the studio that is known for their works like the “Ice Age” sagas, as well as their newest baby, Spies in Disguise.

Yes, Blue Sky Studio is a terrific studio. But it is also a lot more than that. Here I will talk about my experience and how my arch nemesis, Tom Holland, beat me out for the lead character, Walter Beckett in the animated feature.

Considering that many people are not able to leave their homes, (as it could be illegal in some states) what better time than now to enjoy a good film. There exists a studio that has the tech savvy, knowledge know-how, and two directors who look like two giant Siberian huskies, that can help smooth over the coronavirus-caused nervousness we are all experiencing. This studio is known for having delivered the incredibly funny, and profoundly sweet, adventure movie. This superb adventure film is just what our culture needs at this time.

I, along with many other members of the press, had the privilege of experiencing what it would be like to work and act for a studio. We were divided into smaller groups to ensure that all members had a chance to speak with the director

I got to meet the piercing blue-eyes directors, Troy Quane, and his business partner, the smooth milk chocolate brown eyes, Nick Bruno. They spoke to us about their everyday tasks and what an amazing opportunity it was to co-direct their film together. They talked to us about their process, their collaboration with one another, and what inspired the film. The inspiration came from visiting a museum in New York featuring spies. The museum focused on the weapons that caused destruction during spy missions, yet what caught the directors’ attention was a radio disguised as poop. A device geared towards communicating and bringing together people in a time of war was often overlooked. This was the inspiration behind the film.

After an engaging discussion of the directors’ process, I, along with the group, were off to see the lead sculptor, Vicki Saulls. In a room with a glass wall, all her creative sculptures were available to see from both inside and outside the studio room. Vicki Saulls, came out and greeted us with open arms. Not only does she do her own sculpting, but she even creates 3-D images to see how her sculptures will look on the screen. Vicki talked about her process of converting 2-D artwork into a 3-dimensional model. How she begins with clay and molds it to her will. After she has an exact image, she designs a digital version of her product. This aspect is very collaborative, so she would hear what the directors and designers would say and she, with her magic skills, would craft a perfect reflection of their image for each character.

After our adventure in sculpting, we were off to see Adam Cootes, who is the head of story. This is where the story really comes to life, and it can start to be visualized for the writers, directors, and animators. Everyone will sit with the story artist and flesh the most important aspects of the movie: this includes what everyone in the room want to feel, see, and even what elements make specific scenes work. This is probably the safest room for ideas. As director Troy stated, “Nick is great at throwing out dumb ideas”. So, it is important that everyone throw out ideas for the process because story is the most malleable part.

Once the first half of the tour was done, we were given the chance to act a scene. If you have been keeping up with the pop-cultural phenomena that is Tom Holland, who is perhaps best known for his acting in the Spider-Man series, and of course, the push-up tee-shirt challenge, then you know the appeal. He is a cute, toned guy, with a British accent, not unlike myself, but mines a gay accent. Tom goes into a studio and you truly believe he is the reincarnation of Walter Beckett, a fictional animated character. Both Tom and I, had to read out a surprise scene. With all the splendid gifts for remembering how my favorite actors worked on tv at my disposal, I somehow clumsily stumbled my way through it. It turned out reading lines in front of a professional camera crew was a lot harder than performing in front of your friends with a phone and posting it on TikTok.

Walking into a small room with about five people who are all ready to see you perform is nerve wrecking enough, now let’s add a surprise emotional scene into the mix and disaster awaits. If you have ever acted before in any capacity, there are three things you should always remember: know your lines, stay within your mark, and repeat your performance for continuity. Simple enough, or at least that is what I thought.

The scene asked for three basic emotions: first feeling distracted, then surprised, and finally admiration. This was, in no uncertain terms, one of the hardest scenes to perform in the five seconds I had. We had to memorize our lines, and act on the spot. With my talented equal having already accomplished his role, it was my turn. I sat on the chair, looked directly into the camera (something you’re not supposed to do), and said, “Hi, I’m Walter Beckett, Awww.” These words were said like a person who had an unearned sense of grandeur. I of course, thought I did a magnificent job, because how else could it go? The look on everyone’s face as I stood up to walk away was unbelievable, almost shocked, and horrified. Like they couldn’t believe I outperformed Tom Holland.

After, what I can only assume was my greatest performance of all time, I gladly handed over the reins of this fantastic film to a more seasoned actor. Well, that and the DVD is already available to purchase at your nearest store and online.

As the day came to a slow end, and the group got together and piled into the bus. I couldn’t help but to think that Tom Holland won this round. There will be other projects, some more complicated than others, and some I will be woefully underprepared for, but I will none the less keep trying.

Blue Sky Studios

--

--

Donnie Lopez

Gay Latino/Hispanic social and political commentator, writer, entertainment journalist, and professor. He writes on topics that affect Hispanics culture.