An Overview of the Columbia University Department of Psychiatry

Board-certified psychiatrist Dr. Susan Turner cares for patients through her private practice in the Flatiron District of Manhattan. A graduate of the Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons, Dr. Susan Turner previously served as a lecturer, assistant clinical professor, and assistant attending psychiatrist for the Columbia University Department of Psychiatry.

Located on the campus of Columbia University Medical Center in northern Manhattan, the Columbia University Department of Psychiatry holds distinction as one of the largest and most respected psychiatry departments in the country. The department consists of a faculty of more than 400 psychiatrists and other health care professionals. Working from a number of affiliated institutions, these faculty members support the department in providing outstanding educational and clinical resources.

According to US News & World Report, the Department of Psychiatry has helped health care delivery system NewYork-Presbyterian, which comprises Columbia University Medical Center, to garner acclaim as the fourth-best hospital in the country for adult psychiatric care. The department is also recognized for its research, for which it attracts levels of funding that are among the highest in the United States.