The Dark Pictures Anthology: Little Hope Review

Dragon Fang Media
3 min readSep 25, 2023

--

  • Platforms: Steam, PlayStation Xbox
  • Price: $19.99
  • Release Date: October 29, 2020
  • Genre: Adventure, Choose Your Own Adventure, Third Person, Horror
  • Developer: Supermassive Games
  • Publisher: Bandai Namco

Intro

Heya folks, Shaun here, and I’m back with my latest review! In this one, I’m covering a game called The Dark Pictures Anthology: Little Hope by Supermassive Games and Bandai Namco. This is another review that I’m doing for fun since I picked it up along with Man of Medan.

About the Game:

Little Hope is the 2nd game in The Dark Pictures Anthology series and is very different from Man of Medan. In Little Hope, you follow a group of college students who become trapped in the fog smothered town of Little Hope. The town has a dark past and they soon realize that they’re in danger from various horrors that resemble those who died during witch trials that took place in the town. They must somehow survive the horrors and find their way out of the fog or be trapped there forever.

I honestly enjoyed Little Hope a lot more than I did Man of Medan. The setting was very much like Silent Hill and its story was really enjoyable. By the end of the game I wound up losing 3 people but the game is designed for multiple playthroughs and I’ll be replaying it again in the future to get a 100% survival rating.

Gameplay wise, the game is almost identical to Man of Medan. You wander about the game world in a relatively linear fashion as you explore, look for clues as to what’s going on, and making difficult choices along the way.

Final Thoughts:

Overall, I wound up really enjoying Little Hope. I thought it was a pretty big improvement over Man of Medan, and its story, characters, and horror elements are vastly improved in this game. I also still think about the twist ending that I got, depsite beating it almost a week ago as of writing this review. It’s a great game all around and I’ve decided to give the game a 9 out of 10.

Pros:

  • The Game Looks Fantastic Graphics Wise.
  • The Setting is Very Similar to Silent Hill, Which is a Plus in my Book.
  • Has an Interesting Cast of Characters.
  • The Horror Elements Were Excellent.
  • Tons of Choices and Possible Endings.
  • It’s A Little Longer Than Man of Medan.
  • Its Story is Excellent.

Cons:

  • I Honestly Found Taylor Kind of Annoying As a Character.

Thanks a lot for reading folks! I’ll be back with my next review soon!

--

--

Dragon Fang Media

Welcome to Dragon Fang Media! We cover the best of Movies/TV/Gaming/ETC.