Kaela Tuttle, a Design Research Coordinator, shares a little about herself, her family, and what Women’s History Month and feminist energy mean to her

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox
4 min readMar 15, 2018
Kaela Tuttle

Our mission at Dropbox is to unleash the world’s creative energy by designing a more enlightened way of working. Creative energy is the force inside everyone that drives them to be inventive, imaginative and solve big problems — it’s not about being a “creative person” so much as approaching work with possibility and optimism. Our Women’s employee resource group took the idea one step further and created an internal campaign, “This is Feminist Energy” and asked Dropboxers what feminist energy means to them. In celebration of Women’s History Month, we’ll be featuring Dropboxers and sharing their thoughts on feminist energy.

Q: What is your name, what office do you work out of and how long have you been at Dropbox?

A: My name is Kaela Tuttle, I work out of SF and I’ve been at Dropbox just under a year.

Q: What is your current role at Dropbox?

A: I’m a Design Research Coordinator. I meet with researchers about what they need in terms of participants and logistics to get their study done. I work with them to find the people they need to talk to and the best way to go about doing it all together. I then deal with participant logistics (scheduling, contacting, incentives, e-mail campaigns, etc.) making sure their study goes off without a hitch — as much as is humanly possible at least!

Q: What are your hobbies? Or what can we find you doing on the weekends?

A: I love to travel and explore new places whether it’s internationally or finding my new favorite places to go right here in the Bay. If my weekend doesn’t allow me to travel you can find me lounging in the sun, at the gym, trying to channel my inner Chopped Champion and cook something from scratch, or shamelessly watching Parks and Rec.

(left) In Paris on the Pont des Arts “Love Lock” Bridge (right) San Ignacio, Belize
(left) Reynisfjara Black Sand Beach (right) In Australia over looking the Sydney Harbor Bridge and the Sydney Opera House

Q: What does feminist energy mean to you?

A: To me feminist energy is that hint of something special that I can bring to the table through my experiences of just being myself, which among many things is a woman. This energy specifically drives me to want to overcome the gender boundaries in the workplace so that I’m no longer defined by and recognized for my gender, but by and for my accomplishments.

Q: What is something that you have done/accomplished at Dropbox that you’re proud of? When did you do this? And what was the impact?

A: Just last month (February 2018), I started a security and privacy initiative for my team, so that our users and participants are protected on a daily basis. I am now working with many different teams within the company to come up with a specific Design Research team training that I can help teach, implement, and maintain.

Q: Any accomplishments you’re proud of outside of work?

A: I am currently pursuing my MBA, and mustered up the courage to swim from Alcatraz not too long ago.

Finishing up the swim from Alcatraz

Q: What does Women’s History Month mean to you?

A: Women’s History Month to me is a chance for education. It’s a chance to showcase accomplishments, identify areas of needed improvement and to create conversation around issues that otherwise may go undiscussed.

Q: Are there any present-day inspirational Women figures in your life?

A: I am constantly inspired by the women in my family; They have battled cancer, raised a family when their spouse was off at war, been a part of the first female class at the Air Force academy, been the first in their family to go to college and beaten the odds time after time when no one thought they could. They are all strong unapologetic women who tackle life with no excuses and a ton of sass, and I am so lucky and proud to call them all mine!

(left) Kaela & her mom in Italy (right) Kaela with the women in her family

Check back soon to meet more Dropboxers. In the meantime visit us at dropbox.com/jobs. Dropbox is growing, grow with us!

--

--

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox

Dropbox is the world’s first smart workspace that helps people and teams focus on the work that matters.