Milestone 1 Complete

Dustin
2 min readJul 27, 2019

--

I’ve gotten all the core CSharp files into a Godot(Mono) project. The next step was to get them to compile. I had to add about 80 support files from UMA. I also had to create nearly the same amount of Mock stubs of Unity classes to get to this point.

Upon reflection, if I’d realized how much work was going to be involved in just getting the files to compile, I might have followed some good advice that I didn’t take. That advice was to not try to reuse any code. Rather, I was told to use the existing code as a baseline to rewrite everything from the ground up. But, what’s done, is done. I may as well use what I have.

I’ve created a scene in Godot with a csharp script that can create the DynamicCharacterAvatar object without running into errors. I dare not go much further without setting down a marker. Therefore, I’ve created Milestone 1 label in the repository.

What’s Next?

Next up will be to get some part of an UMA to display in Godot. I expect this to be challenging. I’ll have to know when to skip certain code sections and when to implement some of the Mock Unity functions I’ve stubbed out. Fortunately, I can follow the existing code in my project. Failing that, I’ve also downloaded Unity and UMA onto my machine. I’ve created a working runtime that I can also use as a comparison.

While I think it will be challenging, I am feeling bullish that all I need is time. I expect that my next update will go back to containing notes about how UMA works.

--

--

Dustin

Software Engineer, Writer, and blogger who has a love-hate relationship with the Detroit Lions